Save Our Seminary?

Posted by Lane Keister 

It is difficult for me to write concerning my alma mater at a time like this. In so writing, I do not wish to steal the thunder from Gary Johnson, who will be writing shortly on the particulars of this website. Instead, consider this post as a shot across the bow, as a preparatory post, a prelude. I have many friends among the students who have signed this document, and I count Enns, Kelly, Green, and Taylor my friends. I count them as brothers in Christ certainly.

My question for the folks who have signed this document is this: what do you suppose is the motivation behind those faculty members who have been disturbed by Enns’s book? If all one read was the website referenced above, one would think that anyone concerned about some of the things in Enns’s book was a witch-hunter. The website advocates that the seminary be saved from such faculty. That is not explicit in the text of the document, which does not name names. However, the “villains” have been clearly identified for anyone who has ears to hear.

Let me say right here and now that I will put my entire reputation, integrity, and everything else on the line and vouch for the faculty that those who have concerns about Enns’s book have them because they want a confessional seminary. And, I would add, anyone who wishes to suggest that a confessional seminary cannot be creative needs to go jump in the lake. Would anyone accuse Gaffin and Poythress, for instance, of being uncreative? Look at their writings. And some, I suppose, might accuse them of being non-confessional. I would not, and would contest anyone who would.

I do not wish to sound like I know better. But let me say this: if three entire departments told me that I had said something wrong in my book, I would hope (I have an ego, too, so I don’t know for sure) that I might reconsider what I said in the book. Proverbs 9:8 is very important here: “Do not reprove a scoffer, for he will hate you. Rebuke a wise man, for he will love you.” I do not regard Enns as a scoffer, mind you. I was primarily thinking of the last half of the verse. Enns has a lot of wisdom. I am the better for his wisdom. So, as a wise man, he should be humble. The fear of the Lord and great humility are some of the signal marks of wisdom. I can well imagine that the prospect of rejecting some of one’s published writings would make one think that he has been humiliated, attacked, etc. His own precious infant had been attacked. That’s probably how I would feel. So, I can imagine that the thought of any kind of recantation is hateful to him. So, in asking him to reconsider his book, I know that I am not asking of him something easy. It is terribly difficult to admit error, especially if one has a Ph.D. from Harvard. Nor do I ask him to recant everything in the book. I found many helpful things in the book. The Christological implications of the incarnational analogy in the form that he presents are what trouble me. Let him not think that the faculty hates him. Let him rather think that this discipline is actually part of love. If I were going astray, I would hope that my fellow presbyters would corral me back into the fold. I would love them for it. Otherwise am I an illegitimate child, and no true son of the King.

I will say one more thing. I had lunch with Enns once. It was a very enjoyable experience. We talked about creativity. I told the story about my music composition professor in college who told me that boundaries spur creativity far more than the lack thereof. If I were to sit down and say, “I’m going to write a piece of music,” I would be absolutely stymied. I have no conception of what I could do. But if I say, “I’m going to write a theme and variations for organ pedal solo” (which I did), the piece practically leaped out of me. The question then became: what can I do within those boundaries? The more rigid the boundaries (and feet are a bit rigid!), the more creative I became. The analogy here is this: one does not find truly biblical creativity by escaping the boundaries of confessional orthodoxy. The boundaries establish the prerequisites for creativity. Modern theology needs to recover this insight, or the entire theological enterprise is completely and utterly doomed.

28 Comments

  1. Joshua L. said,

    January 26, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    well said.

  2. thomasgoodwin said,

    January 26, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I have only one word to say regarding the present outcry against the direction of WTS: Princeton! Nothing changes, friends.

  3. greenbaggins said,

    January 26, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    That is basically the direction that Gary is going to take, I predict.

  4. greenbaggins said,

    January 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Joshua, welcome to my blog. I like yours, and have linked to it on my blogroll.

  5. Jeff Cagle said,

    January 26, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I had Dr. Jue for church history when he was at RTS-Wash., and I can’t imagine him taking cheap shots at people in the classroom.

    But more to the point, he discussed in detail the Shepherd controversy with the class and opined that WTS was simply not willing to repeat the event. I wonder whether that opinion will bear out in this circumstance.

    Jeff Cagle

  6. its.reed said,

    January 26, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    Lane:

    Thanks. As a WTS alumni (’99, MAR), I was disheartened when I read the blog. I was more when I read the comments.

    Some things should not be aired in public. These circumstances are among those things.

    I was especially disappointed by the inferences against those professors who are (supposedly) the problem – a direct insinuation that these men are guilty of gossiping about these things is clearly a point being made by the authors of the blog. Does it not occur to them that such behavior is exactly that which they accuse these men of?

    I am saddened. I am praying.

  7. Tim Harris said,

    January 26, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    Reed — the thread where you said “hi” a while back got deleted I think. So… hi! Bounce me an email when you are ready to grab a whiskey.

    I too was bothered by the insinuations (all but naming names in a rather cunning style). On the other hand, I think the Seminary will err if it just starts quietly letting certain professors go. Let the issues be stated publicly, and let the debates be public as much as possible! (One thing I like about the OPC is that heresy trials must be open to the public.)

  8. its.reed said,

    January 26, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Ref. #7:

    Tim:

    With an invite like that, I’ll be calling you soon. (Seriously, I’ll get in touch soon).

    My call for privacy is of course not absolute, but rather a privacy consonant with the circumstances. I agree with you, at some point an open and frank airing of the things that lead to the decision.

    It would be wonderful, whatever the results, if men from both sides (if there remain two sides) stand side by side and affirm what they jointly have decided in these circumstances, for the good of the Church and the glory of God.

    The men (and women) of WTS-Philly have afirm grip on their Savior. Let us pray with them to such an end.

  9. Gabe Martini said,

    January 26, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    What’s wrong with Enn’s book? I’ve never read anything by him.

  10. jooooooossh said,

    January 26, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Thanks, Lane. I’ve been following your blog for a little while now and am very much encouraged by your posts. I especially enjoyed your post on commentaries. Keep on blogging hard!

    Also, I’d agree with thomasgoodwin, what’s going on at Westminster, sadly, looks a lot like Princeton. It’s a slippery slope, some small compromises here and there, and eventually the entire institution is lost. Hopefully, we’ll have learned from past mistakes.

  11. January 26, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Lane,

    I saw that website when someone either on the Warfield List or PuritanBoard linked to it. Wasn’t sure what to think. I’ve been concerned about the direction of that seminary ever since they didn’t have the courage to deal with Shepherd promptly and decisively. Dismissing Shepherd for “the good of the seminary” after seven years of nonsense bordered on cowardly. I haven’t noticed any growth in backbone since then, but then I’m not watching all that closely. I’ll defer to your expertise since you graduated from there.

    Creativity within the Standards that one vowed to uphold is fine, but that’s the boundary condition. If you had wanted to write a piece for a 100-key piano, I don’t think that your music professor would have been impressed. I had a 4-star general tell my commanders’ class that when one can no longer accept the boundary conditions, then it’s time to move on. I’ve always thought that was prudent advice. This is a general statement as I have no thoughts on Enn or his book since I don’t know the man and haven’t read the book. The seminary has not only the right but the obligation to deal with what they see as error. The proper first step, though, is an internal inquiry. Students and alumni on the blogosphere don’t count for such a pursuit.

    I pray that the seminary may one day be seen as standing firmly within the Reformed Standards. Right now, the other Westminster seems to have a leg up on that goal.

  12. January 27, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I was struck by a comment made by Martyn Lloyd-Jones that “institutions tend to produce their opposite.” Perhaps as an observation on the direction of evangelical scholarship in the academy (post WWII) it holds true. I’m sure that it does for seminaries also.

  13. John R. said,

    January 28, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    If this were Knox Seminary, the board of directors, the chancellor, and all the many professors who are confessionally concerned would be ousted, and the one recalcitrant professor alone would remain standing among the smoldering ruins.

    I hope it won’t turn out the way it seems to be turning out in Ft. Lauderdale, and that confessional integrity won’t be sacrificed upon the altar of personal popularity.

  14. greenbaggins said,

    January 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    You are probably right about that one, Rey. I would say that the implications for Chalcedonian Christology are rather bleak, if we follow Enns.

  15. Tim Harris said,

    January 28, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Rey — I think what Green is saying is along these lines: Enns says that the Bible has, like Christ, both a divine and human nature. The human nature is “messy” in various ways. The human messiness includes accommodation to cultural errors. Green is rightly concerned that on this view of human and divine nature, Christ could also be errored, perhaps even sinful, as to his human nature.

  16. January 28, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    I have heard from others that there is an NPP thread running through this. According to this line, WTS hasn’t been diligent to hire orthodox profs and wound up with a bunch of NPP sympathizers and the impressionable students apparently are buying it as orthodoxy. Anyone else hearing this?

  17. greenbaggins said,

    January 28, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Except insofar as Mary is the mother of the person of Christ. As He has a hypostatic union, therefore we can speak of Mary as the mother of Jesus, who is God. She is obviously not the mother of Christ’s divine nature. But I have a hard time believing that Chalcedon meant that either.

  18. greenbaggins said,

    January 28, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    But surely the phrase “perfect in Godhood” answers the question, does it not? Because the formula is only trying to state the two natures of Christ. It is not trying to imply that essence is exactly paralle in every respect; only that Jesus is truly God and truly man.

  19. greenbaggins said,

    January 28, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Do you have any? ;-)

  20. GLW Johnson said,

    January 29, 2008 at 7:46 am

    John R
    #13-if ever the expression ‘save our seminary’ was applicable to a seminary in peril-it is Knox and the crisis brought on by D. James Kennedy’s recently passing. What will happen next is hard to say, but the Knox that emerges from this tragic turn of events will not be the one that Kennedy envisioned.

  21. Stephen said,

    January 30, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    I agree with Gary Johnson in the last entry, it is difficult to say what will happen with Knox. The present crisis is one that could have easily been avoided, but with Jim Kennedy’s death it put people into a state of panic. I have no issue with the present faculty, because these are great men, but I do pray that the seminary will survive.

  22. D G Hart said,

    February 5, 2008 at 10:29 am

    For a somewhat different perspective on Save Our Seminary, readers may want to look at:
    http://deregnochristi.org/2008/02/02/westminsters-warrior-children/

  23. greenbaggins said,

    February 5, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Daryl, I read that post, and found it most interesting and helpful. Thanks for the link. And welcome to my blog!

  24. Andrew Webb said,

    February 7, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Hi Lane,

    My .02 on the controversy is online Here

    If you want me to cross post it here, please let me know.

    – Andy Webb

  25. greenbaggins said,

    February 7, 2008 at 10:22 am

    Andy, I would definitely like for you to post it on GB. However, I am waiting for Gary Johnson’s post. I think, since yours is already up at PB, we will put Gary’s up first, then wait a while, then post yours here as well, if that’s okay with you.

  26. GLW Johnson said,

    February 7, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Lane
    I sent it to you bout 10 mnutes ago.

  27. Andrew Webb said,

    February 7, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Hi Lane,

    Got it, just give me a thumbs up when you want it posted. At this point, its more of a historical reference paper. I was debating posting some large snippets from my OT lecture notes as well, but decided that would be overkill. If people can’t figure out that something is wrong with the Biblical departments at WTS from the letter, larger quotes wouldn’t shock them either. The problem is that too many of the SOS posters are also actively promoting the same kind of theology as Enns , Green, etc.

  28. Joel Hathaway said,

    July 16, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Lane,

    Joel Hathaway here, Director of Alumni and Placement Services at Covenant Seminary. Someone told me that you (while at the PCA GA) wanted to get one of our professors to write for you. But the message was garbled and I didn’t get much more than that. Can you contact me and let me know how I can help with this?

    Blessings

    JH


Leave a comment