On Heretics

Chapter 16 of RINE is on heretics, and their relationship to the covenant.

Wilson starts by noting that many responses to heresies by the orthodox have their own heresy underlying the critique: individualism. It is important to state here that the dangers of individualism are difficult to over-estimate. The Enlightenment has done the church no favors. However, we should not throw the individual-salvation-baby out with the individualism-me-and-my-Bible-and-Jesus-alone-don’t-get-in-my-face-bathwater. There is such an emphasis on the corporate in the Federal Vision that I wonder if the “What must I do to be saved?” question (see Acts 16:30) doesn’t get thrown into the background too much. Is this not still the most important question that anyone can ask?

Wilson wants to steer a middle course between those who schmooze (that is, those who over-emphasize unity), and those who “soon find (them)selves members of the church of just one, and we are starting to have doubts about him” (pg. 141). Wilson does not want to have to choose between unity and purity. The emphasis of Wilson’s point is more on critiqueing those who are supposedly over-emphasizing truth at the expense of unity. He notes that it is “hard to find the brakes” (pg. 141). He argues that the proper course is to call everyone who is properly baptized (into the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit) a Christian. This does not mean that we are saying that everyone so-called is a possessor of eternal life, any more than saying that an adulterous husband is faithfully fulfilling his marriage vows. Wilson wants to stress that calling a person a Christian may even heighten the criticism, since the person is not living up to the vows he has taken in baptism.

This leads into a discussion of heresy itself. Heresy reveals faithfulness (pg. 142), in the sense of clarifying who is keeping their vows, and who isn’t. Heresy is obvious (ibid). I would have to disagree here. Paul says that some people “secretly bring in destructive heresies.” Satan often masquerades as an angel of light. Satan is a master of deception. I do not think that heresy is always obvious at all. In fact, it seems to me that the opposite is true. Why else is there so much hoopla over different doctrine? Was it obvious to the early church that Arianism was wrong? If it was, why did it take so amazingly long to rid the church of it? Arianism was smooth and subtle, playing on Greek iotas and such. Wilson argues that “sheep don’t have to go to graduate school to find out the difference between a shepherd and a wolf” (pg. 142). Again, I beg to differ. I know of many church situations where the pastor has been a heretic, and the church became divided over him, some believing that he was just fine, and others thinking he was the devil incarnate. It was not blindingly obvious at all. Furthermore, heretics do not always fall headlong. Sometimes they can stay in the church their entire lives, and never show that they have left the fold. I get the distinct impression that Wilson is trying to define heresy such that the Federal Vision cannot possibly qualify, by definition.

I do heartily agree with Wilson that heretics are to be identified. I have this question for Wilson: who identifies heretics? Is it not the church? What if almost all of Reformedom as defined by NAPARC have defined Federal Vision as being out of accord (let’s leave the word “heresy” out of it for a moment) with their doctrinal standards? Are they all idiots? Have they all misunderstood the FV so completely? Have all of these lightweight theological nincompoops like Sproul, Duncan, Phillips, Knight, Pipa, Robbins (Carl), Smith, White, Clark, Godfrey, Horton, Van Drunen, Gaffin, Trueman, Jue, Waters, Schwertley, Fesko, Hutchinson(s), Gunn, Pipa, Beisner, Aquila, Venema (and the rest of MARS faculty), and last (but least) Keister so completely misunderstood the FV? Understand that I am not here committing the fallacy of “numbers makes right.” I would only be committing that fallacy if I said that because all of these men say that the FV is wrong, that therefore the FV is wrong. It is remotely possible that all of these theological featherweights have completely misunderstood the FV from top to bottom. I am asking a different question: what is more likely? That these critics have understood or misunderstood the FV? I see lots of protestations on the part of FV advocates that they have been misunderstood. I see far less proof of it. In fact, hardly any proof of it. In fact, hardly any evidence.

That being said, I agree with Wilson that adultery is not the same thing as divorce, and I further appreciate his analogy of a house and the place of heresy within it. I am not so sure about the definition of church discipline as being part of the well-being of the church, and not so much the being of the church. It is certainly true that Calvin did not assert that discipline was one of the marks of the church. However, the Reformed Confessions do. WCF 25.4 and BC 29 prove this quite adequately. I trust that Wilson will not call these documents “doctrinal perfectionistic” (pg. 146). The point I want to make here is this: sure, we can say that discipline concerns the “well-being” of the church. But in terms of the being of the church, does God want the church barely to survive? Or does He want the church healthy? Similarly, one can say that food belongs more to the well-being of the human body than to its actual existence. But given the fact that so much of the body is concerned with eating and drinking, would anyone really object to saying that food is necessary for the being of the body? And, even if Calvin did not say that it was one of the marks of the church, he did say that “Accordingly, as the saving doctrine of Christ is the soul of the church, so does discipline serve as its sinews, through which the members of the body hold together, each in its own place.” (IV.12.1 of the Inst.)

11 Comments

  1. Dave Rockwell said,

    October 23, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    Concerning individualism:
    WCF Chap. 20:2 addresses the individual and their liberty of conscience.
    God alone (not the church or the presbytery or the GA) is lord of the conscience, and hath left it free from the doctrines and commandments of men which are in any thing contrary to his word, or beside it, in matters of faith and worship. So that to believe such doctrines, or to obey such commandments out of conscience, is to betray true liberty of conscience: and the requiring of an implicit faith, and an absolute and blind obedience, is to destroy liberty of conscience, and reason also.

    It is my belief that the FV is out to destroy individual liberty of conscience and are promoting and requiring an implicit faith and an absolute and blind obedience to their false doctrine.

    I also believe that the GA report fell far short of keeping the purity of the PCA by calling these false teachers our brothers and concluding not with mandates but only “recommendations”.

  2. magma2 said,

    October 23, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Dave, I agree with you on both counts. I think the PCA report would have been better without assuming the brotherhood of FV men. Some seeming FV men may be brothers, but I see no reason to assume all are. “I know that after my departure savage wolves will come in among you, not sparing the flock; and from among your own selves men will arise, speaking perverse things, to draw away the disciples after them.” It hardly follows that those these wolves are brothers. Either that or the PCA means that one can be a wolf and a brother.

    Does anyone know how the SJC decided in the Wilkins case?

  3. Mark T. said,

    October 23, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    I’m just guessing here, but I believe they had to use tempered language in the report so that they would not look like alarmists, which possibly would scare off the uninformed in the denomination. In matters like this, sometimes it’s better to get your feet wet one ankle at a time rather than jumping in whole hog like an Acapulco Cliff diver.

    Re “individualism,” it’s a good thing that the CREC keeps its members in check by proscribing the heresy of self-willed autonomy, i.e. “individualism,” within its ranks. I would hate to see how some of these characters would behave without that fence in place.

    Finally, I think this is a very important post for Lane and I’ll be curious to see if Wilson answers it.

  4. Dave Rockwell said,

    October 23, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Covenant Seminary has FV students and FV churches in the St. Louis area that have to be catered to. So, they chose diplomacy over the sword of the Spirit. That’s the only reason I can think of for the “tempering”.

    “The emphasis of Wilson’s point is more on critiqueing those who are supposedly over-emphasizing truth at the expense of unity. He notes that it is “hard to find the brakes” (pg. 141).”
    When should a person ever put the “brakes” on the truth?! Is that what we did with the PCA report?

  5. Mark T. said,

    October 24, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Dave,

    I’m with you. Zero tolerance. No negotiation. The truth is the truth even if no one agrees. But I see the wisdom of proceeding carefully on this issue precisely because of the politics involved, such as you mentioned. There is no margin for error on this one, so it’s better to err on the side of caution. If they had come out calling down fire from heaven, I am confident that most would have raised their eyebrows and voted no. However, by capturing an overwhelming majority of the denomination with a tempered report, the ad interim committee positioned the PCA (and the next possible committee) to take the next step, which may be considerably more aggressive. And that’s because they laid the foundation so carefully. Or, in the words of John the Baptist, they laid the ax to the root. Now all that’s left is for the next committee to swing.

  6. October 25, 2007 at 7:08 am

    I had a really good post but it didnt go through. I don’t have time to retype right now so I’ll just plug again, shamelessly

    http://www.postdeliberatuslux.wordpress.com/

  7. October 25, 2007 at 7:48 am

    I’ll say it if no one else will.

    Are you listening?

    I love Jesus.
    I love the Father of Jesus.
    I love the Spirit of Jesus.
    I love the Word of Jesus.

    That’s not what I was going to say, that’ll come un momento. Unfortunately I cannot regain what I had written earlier. It really was a good post. But I’ll try.
    As I read and listen to and evaluate the anti-FV/AA lectures (via SermonAudio.org, see my blog http://www.postdeliberatuslux.wordpress.com/)
    I fall more and more in love with this heresy. It truly has captured my heart. And I consider my love for it within the realm of my growing from faith to faith. When I was in college I had (all, really) some of the godliest men teaching me. Some of the godliest Arminians, that is. Yes, they were heretics (that is what Dort was for, right?). In college I was forced to think, “Am I right here? Are all these godly Arminian Dispensationalists wrong? How can I, a mere pup be right and these old dogs be wrong?”

    It’s a hard question to answer but answer it I will. Yes, all those guys you listed, Lane, are wrong. For whatever reason it’s not clicking for [you]. As I grew out of Arminian Dispensational heresy I fell more and more in love with the Lord of the Covenant. As I grow in my knowledge of this new heresy, I am diong the same. Jesus is more real to me and his people more dear now than before. Is it bad gas? Mebbe. Do I need Pepcid? Per’aps. But for right now I am answering your question: Yes, Virginia, there are Federal Vision-aries.

    Nope. That wasn’t nearly as good as the first. Soz.

  8. Mark T. said,

    October 25, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Black & Tan in the AM (aka Matthew Finley),

    If you want hits, then you need to write something worth reading, such as Lane has done consistently here at Green Baggins. Notice all of the bloggers who frequent this site, not to shamelessly plug their blogs, but to interact with the hottest blog around — hot because Lane’s posts are solid, i.e. he’s not an empty shill for a theological con job.

    So, let’s take your ridiculous assertion that all of the names cited above are in fact wrong and compare it the list of names dropped by the subject of the aforementioned post in the email quoted here. Almost all of the Reformed men listed in the email have repudiated Federal Vision (I say “almost” because I don’t know where Adams is and I suspect Mathison would be a FV sympathizer).

    Please tell me, who changed since then and who was wrong at that time.

    Thank you.

  9. greenbaggins said,

    October 25, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Mark, you are very kind. I’ll pay you later. ;-)

  10. October 25, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Short of calling me an idiot (and yes, my manly feelings are a bit wounded but I’ll recover), your response was very rude. I’ve encountered that here before….hmmmmm. I do believe I have written rather nicely on my blog and have some valid points made. Please interact with me. Yes, Lane’s posts are soild and very engaging and very good. And in certain areas, wrong. But I’m not about to call him an empty-shill-for-a-theological-con-job. Besides, like I said, my first post was far superior than the one above. Providential humility.
    Hey!! I won’t post my site now but I put up some audio-blogs which are reeeeeaaaaly cool. And anyway, there’s enough weight here to spread to the lower creatures….pay me a visit. I forgive you Mark. Te absolvo.

  11. October 25, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Oh! What’s with having to print my name? Calling me out? It’s on my blog but thanks.


Leave a comment