Green Baggins Is Going OPC

It is now official. I have been examined and approved by the OPC’s Presbytery of the Midwest for a call from Momence OPC, which is south of Chicago about 35 or 40 miles. The presbytery is an extremely congenial presbytery, full of vanilla presbyterians like myself. I want my friends in the PCA to know that I still love the PCA, and I did not leave primarily for ideological reasons. The main reason was that Momence OPC and I really hit it off, and we appear to be a good fit for each other. I had applied to churches in several NAPARC denominations, but this church is the one that worked out. That being said, I will not particularly miss the progressive wing of the PCA, and I daresay that some of them will not miss me! I will continue, however, to pray for my confessional brothers and sisters in the PCA, that they will not compromise, but will hold fast the faith once for all delivered to the saints. I will continue also to follow the PCA with interest and prayer. I cannot forget a denomination of which I have been a part for 38 years!

14 Comments

  1. Neil Tolsma said,

    March 18, 2017 at 4:36 pm

    Welcome to the Presbytery of the Midwest. I’m sorry I was not at the meeting to welcome you. Our prayers will be with you as you take up your new calling. In Christ, Neil Tolsma.

    Sent from myMail for iOS

    Saturday, March 18, 2017, 1:30 PM -0500 from Green Baggins :
    greenbaggins posted: “It is now official. I have been examined and approved by the OPC’s Presbytery of the Midwest for a call from Momence OPC, which is south of Chicago about 35 or 40 miles. The presbytery is an extremely congenial presbytery, full of vanilla presbyterians li”

  2. March 18, 2017 at 4:39 pm

    Congratulations, Lane! That should help clear up your ulcer, if you have one. I assume the name of the town is Momence?

  3. greenbaggins said,

    March 18, 2017 at 4:44 pm

    Richard, yes, the town name is Momence. It is 10 miles east of Kankakee.

    Neil, I look forward to meeting you in person. Thank you for the welcome.

  4. Ron said,

    March 18, 2017 at 4:50 pm

    Great news, Lane. Congratulations!

  5. March 18, 2017 at 5:42 pm

    Congratulations, Lane! I cannot say that I’m shocked. I pray that the Lord has led you and your lovely family to peace. I will miss you at GA and in the general fight for the Reformed truths of the gospel in the PCA.

  6. Peter Griffith said,

    March 18, 2017 at 6:39 pm

    Miss you at RPR. Enjoying commentary on Republication report and now suspect I know why that was going slow. Blessings on your be calling.

  7. Linda Jones said,

    March 18, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    Welcome to the OPC!

  8. March 18, 2017 at 11:08 pm

    Welcome, Lane !!

  9. Cris Dickason said,

    March 18, 2017 at 11:31 pm

    Lane! Welcome to the OPC (from Presbytery of Philadelphia).When will you make the physical move? If it is before May 31st, then you should swing by the GA, since it is convening at Trinity Christian College, Palos Heights!

    -=Cris=-

  10. Steve Drake said,

    March 19, 2017 at 10:45 am

    May your love for God, love for the truth of God’s Word, and love for the people of God, bless your new congregation pastor!

  11. Matt Holst said,

    March 19, 2017 at 8:55 pm

    Welcome brother ;)

  12. Dave Sarafolean said,

    March 21, 2017 at 7:53 am

    Really happy for you Lane. Best wishes for you in your new church and denomination.

  13. Mark Van Der Molen said,

    March 22, 2017 at 8:09 pm

    Momence, a stone’s throw from DeMotte.

  14. Frank Aderholdt said,

    March 22, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    Well brother, the PCA’s loss is the OPC’s gain. Think of us (more importantly, pray for us!) as we continue the good confessional fight of faith.

    I see that you’ll be living just one hour from Lyric Opera of Chicago. Next time I’m in the big city, join me for a performance – your ticket will be on me! Time to get plugged into today’s basses and baritones. They’re just as good as the greats of recent memory, you know.


Leave a Reply

