A Disturbing Trend in Electronics

This has happened to me twice, now. First it happened when I purchased a printer. It just happened again when I purchased a Blue-Ray disk player: in both cases there was no cord to connect the device to the computer (in the case of the printer) or the TV (in the case of the Blue-Ray disk player)! Now, the guy at Office Depot was very apologetic when I called and told him about it. But if Walmart is going to sell a Phillips BR disc player, and not have the cord in the package, at least tell your cashiers, so that they can ask the consumer if they have a cord to go with it! Otherwise, the consumer has to make a separate trip to get a cord. Amazingly annoying!

8 Comments

  1. May 11, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Peripheral cables have not been included for over a decade for most items. The reason given is length, the real reason is cost/profit.

    Of course if the customer looked on the box and noted no cable was listed in the contents, or even noticed there is a whole panel of cables on the same aisle as the device … <..> ^.^

  2. greenbaggins said,

    May 11, 2012 at 9:26 am

    R.K., when I bought my last Blue-Ray disc player, all the cables were included. Furthermore, in the Wal-mart aisle where I bought the BR disc player, there were no cables close by, and, furthermore, there is NOTHING on the box to tell me whether the cable is included or not. So, your good-natured charge of consumer ineptitude is misplaced, I’m afraid. ;-)

  3. May 11, 2012 at 9:33 am

    OK, for future reference, if it does not say “batteries included” lets all presume there are no batteries, came for cables.

    Truth is, it would be overly expensive and confusing to many customers. Component, composite, s-video, hdmi, dvi-d, dvi-a heck thats more in cables than the device.

    I do understand your frustration though.

  4. greenbaggins said,

    May 11, 2012 at 9:59 am

    I hear you, too. However, is it too much to expect a cable to connect it to my TV? Most TV’s these days seem to have a variety of ways for a player to connect. Just one cable, that’s all I ask, one that would, you know, make the thing USABLE!

  5. May 11, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    I think it’s a Wal-Mart trend too! For at least the last FOUR visits I have made to Wal-Mart, store employees have snagged my “unattended” grocery cart (left in an aisle for 0.68 seconds while I fetch something from a high shelf) full of stuff and disappeared!

    My next trip to Wal-Mart will not be to buy anything, but just to fill a a cart or two to the max with stuff from all over the store, then abandon it in an aisle and walk out. ;)

  6. greenbaggins said,

    May 12, 2012 at 6:44 am

    OK, so the rest of the story happened yesterday. I took the BR player back, because it wouldn’t open unless I pushed the button about 8 times. So I ask the guy about cords and he tells me that none of the BR players come with cords. So I dutifully purchase an HDMI cord to go with the new LG player I bought. I open the box at home, and whaddaya know? It came with a cord!

  7. Cris Dickason said,

    May 12, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Lane: Welcome to the retail world in SC. You probably don’t have have options besides Wal-Mart. Of course I and my lovely wife have our suburban Philly background, but Mar found it very limiting when first arrived in Orangeburg to find a Wal-Mart, a Lowes, very small Sears. Very few options in the retail space unless taking the 45+ miles to North Columbia/Harbison area.

  8. May 12, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    It is those tricksy South Koreans, trying to give you more than what others do for a reasonable price.

    Seriously though I have never seen an electronics box in retail packaging that did not list all the contents, but then I always check on products before I buy them, I suppose it is the contemporary equivalent of reading consumer reports.

    Sorry you are having so many issues. I was tempted to open up my 2 cable drawers and send you a picture of the hundreds of cables I have extra from over the years, but that would have just been mean. ;)


Leave a Reply

