General Assembly Thoughts

I just got back from General Assembly to my sister-in-law’s house in Colorado, after flying from Norfolk to DFW to Denver. It was a sweet General Assembly for me, since I spent pretty much the whole time talking with friends and making new friends. I must admit that after so much of the nonsense that has been going on in the PCA, I had thought seriously of leaving. However, after I saw how many good men and women are still in the PCA, my love for her was renewed, and I remembered that she is definitely worth the fight. It made me more indignant than ever at those who would keep pushing at the confession with a knife, threatening to snap its threads. For they truly are the schismatics. Confessional types aren’t moving at all. But not much pushing was happening at this GA, for which I was very thankful. In fact, it was generally a fairly quiet General Assembly.

The alumni dinner for Westminster Theological Assembly is also an event I never miss when I go to GA. This dinner reminded me of how much I appreciate WTS. I got to sit next to Dr. David Garner and Dr. David McWilliams. That was pretty sweet. I got to talk to Dr. McWilliams about his new Galatians commentary, and to Dr. Garner about the new initiatives on the doctrine of Scripture that are starting.

7 Comments

  1. Richard L. Lindberg said,

    June 10, 2011 at 6:08 am

    Something new coming out of WTS?

  2. greenbaggins said,

    June 10, 2011 at 7:34 am

    Yes. the three main Reformed seminaries collaborated together this year to create a series of lectures on the doctrine of Scripture that will be published as a stand-alone volume. In addition to that, WTS is going to put together a more popular volume on Scripture.

  3. Reed Here said,

    June 10, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Sorry I couldn’t be there this year. Would have enjoyed your company, as well as the host of others.

  4. Cris Dickason said,

    June 10, 2011 at 11:09 am

    A quick comment from the OPC 78th General Assembly, celebrating the OPC’s 75th anniversary (June 11, 1936). I’m here as a 1st time commissioner. As you can imagine, it’s a celebratory mode for this year.I was on Advisory Committee to review the report of Home Missions/Church Extension committee. That means we meet with the General Secretary & Asst Secretary of the committee (Rev. Ross Graham & Rev. Richard Gerber): it was encouraging to hear of church planting being done in accord with a Presbyterian doctrine of the Church. A session is always involved, etc.

    There’s a sweet book table with new D.G. Hart book on the history of the OPC, Between the Times and a new book of commemorative essays:
    Confident of Better Things. Some essays:
    How Evangelical is Rome? Van Til, Strimple and Roman Catholocism by Danny Olinger
    The Legacy of Charles Hodge by Alan Strange
    Confessing the Reformed Faith: Our Identity in Unity and Diversity by Richard Muller
    Is Classical Christian Education Truly Christian? CVT and Classical Christian Education by William Dennison
    The Gospel and Redemptive-Historical Hermeneutics by Lane Tipton
    Was Adam Historical? by Robert Strimple
    Biblical Languages and the Art of Gospel Preaching by Stephen Tracey
    A Medium for the Message: The Form of the Message is Foolish, Too by Gregory Reynolds

    Many other essays, Dr. Gaffin, Mark Garcia; my close friend & former co-worker at the WTS Bookstore, Jack Sawyer, on the history of OPC/New Zealand church connections.
    These are all available at opc.org, under publications, under Committee for the historian at bargain prices 12.00 for 518 pp/postage pd. Sorry for the plug.

    -=Cris=-

  5. David Gray said,

    June 10, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    >>These are all available at opc.org, under publications, under Committee for the historian at bargain prices 12.00 for 518 pp/postage pd. Sorry for the plug.

    Hopefully our pastor will bring some back from GA for the book table…

  6. Scott said,

    June 10, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    No reason to be discouraged, truth is always contested, and will be vindicated among His people and upon our Lord’s return.

    Our biggest challenge will be systematically checking on our own bureaucracy, even with good people in them.

    God has seen fit to appoint many sound, biblical reformed people among us.

    Like you.

    Soli Deo Gloria.

  7. June 10, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Lane,

    It was great to see you again as well. I highly value the fellowship at GA each year. Although I don’t have any natural affiliations through a seminary, I have made a lot of friends just by attending and trying to get to know folks, most of whom I only ever see at GA. For example, I had a great lunch today with a dear brother from NJ Presbytery whom I have seen for years at GA but never had the opportunity to get to know. It was a sweet fellowship.

    That said, many of the friends that I enjoy seeing at GA are fellow bloggers and commenters from here and other blogs. Rather than an impersonal medium that blogs can be, this, Wes’, and a few others have spawned some excellent fellowship in personal interactions at GA. If not for these blogs, I wouldn’t have gotten to know so many brothers in so short a time.

    The PCA has its issues, but sometimes the blogosphere can magnify them beyond their real impact in the denomination. I try to remember that they are only legends in their own minds. I believe that the PCA is a healthy and orthodox denomination that experiences growing pains that would characterize any large, geographically-diverse organization. I try to stay focused on what we share in common through our theology and polity and accept our non-essential differences. That’s certainly easier said than done and I don’t do it as well as I’d like, but it keeps me centered on the vast number of orthodox officers and members who value our Standards and BCO rather than the outliers.

    Bob


Leave a Reply

