The Roman Communion – A Bird’s Eye View

Over at the Ref21 blog one of the contributors linked to an interview with Anglican Ray Galea, conducted by the folks at Matthias Media on Australia. (Thids was on the occasion of the curren Pope’s visti to Australia in 2008.)

Ray, raised in the Roman Communion, offered some insights on the differences between Rome and the Reformation heritage. Over this past year we’ve had a number of discussions with our Roman friends here at Green Baggins. Often the conversation ends up scattering into a myriad of loose ends. While a few of us may be profiting from the broad conversation, I suspect many are a tad bit confused at times. I think Ray’s interview provides some opportunity for some focus in these discussions. I recommend it both regular posters and lurkers.

Having myself been raised in the Roman Communion, I found his summary quite helpful. Even where an adherent of Rome might disagree with Ray’s observations, I believe he will agree that Ray is reasonable without falling into unnecessary argumentative exageration.

posted by Reed DePace

6 Comments

  1. Truth Unites... and Divides said,

    November 6, 2010 at 10:24 am

    “Having myself been raised in the Roman Communion”

    Reed, that’s interesting!

    Can you tell me a bit more about your exit out of the Roman Communion and why you did it?

  2. Reed Here said,

    November 6, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Simple: I was converted. I was nothing like our Roman friends who post here. I was raised in the Roman Churhc, learned my catechism, went to mass infrequently (about once a month), lived by the basic scheme of Jesus + the Church + me would in the end secure my way to heaven.

    In college the Lord used one summer selling books door to door and then that fall the witness of another student with Campus Crusade to bring the gospel into focus for me. I got involved with a small anabaptistic-dispensational church (Grace Brethren).

    Over my sophomore – into my junior year the Spirit worked to convict/convince me of my unrighteousness and Jesus’ sufficiency. I can’t tell you exactly the day I was converted (I said the sinners prayer beginning of my sophomre year). I can tell that I was converted during this period.

    It was only subsequent to my conversion that I went back and really put some effort into learning the details of my former church home.

  3. Robert Berman said,

    November 6, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    What an excellent interview, Reed. Thanks for posting it!

  4. michael said,

    November 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    yes, I agree with RB’s sentiments about this being a excellent post of the interview with Ray Galea!

  5. Reed Here said,

    November 6, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks guys. Glad you found it helpful.

  6. Andrew McCallum said,

    November 7, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Ray says in his article, They say Catholicism is like the Hinduism of the western world: it can absorb lots of things.

    Doesn’t this just hit the nail on the head! Catholicism is a such a mush of different belief systems and has this chameleon-like ability to take on so much of the look and feel of the local religions and culture around it.


Leave a Reply

