Two Upcoming Books of Interest

Good conservative commentaries on Acts are not in plentiful supply. Therefore, the addition of this commentary in the near future will be more than welcome.

Furthermore, this commentary on Ecclesiastes should be worth looking at as well. Hopefully, he will not take Longman’s approach to the text, which basically guts the book of preachable material. Unfortunately, Longman is the editor of the series. Nevertheless, I hope this commentary will be more helpful than Longman’s. Bartholomew is an expert on hermeneutics.

9 Comments

  1. Jim Vellenga said,

    April 16, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Both of those look very interesting. I think I will wait for reviews on the Ecclesiastes one before considering purchasing it though.

  2. Uri Brito said,

    April 16, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Ok, Lane. You said something I actually agree with…this is a good start. I had Longman at RTS/Orlando. He was teaching primarily through Daniel. I always left the class feeling cheated. This man, I said to myself, has given me no spiritual nourishment, only proof of the pagan origins of certain passages in Daniel. Then one afternoon that same week, we had the annual debate between Bruce Waltke and Longman. They are good friends, but every year a couple of my buddies would arrange so the two could debate a topic. The topic that year was Ecclesiastes. Longman’s entire argument was that Ecclesiastes is an unchristian book, not meant for the pulpit. That day Waltke became my hero.

  3. ReformedSinner said,

    April 16, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    well, I’m trusting your report on Longman to be accurate. Just wanted to say Jesus should of listened to Longman and should of say: “All of the Laws, Psalms, and Prophets are about me, except Ecclesiastes”

  4. greenbaggins said,

    April 17, 2009 at 7:09 am

    Yes, if we believe Longman, then the only positive theology that can possibly come out of the book is the frame narrator’s. But the frame narrator said that Qohelet was wise. My opinion is that Qohelet is actually doing something very akin to presuppositional apologetics. He is taking (temporarily!) the position of being “under the sun.” In other words, he is imagining what things look like with God being out of the picture. He comes to absurdity. Therefore, the conclusion of the matter is that you cannot leave God out of the picture. Longman believes that Qohelet is a heretic, basically. I cannot possibly agree. Longman has completely misread the intention of the book. I was extremely grieved to see that the revised Expositor’s Bible Commentary has an entry on Ecclesiastes by a Longman protege who took basically the same approach that Longman did.

  5. Uri Brito said,

    April 17, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Speaking of Ecclesiastes, let me plug in my friend Jeff Meyer’s excellent short commentary on Ecclesiastes entitled: A table in the mist.
    BTW, I think your point about Qohelet is an excellent one. For Longman to be correct, it would be akin to having Arius write one of the 27 books.

  6. Danny said,

    April 17, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Thanks for the heads up Lane. I’ll be preaching through Acts starting this summer.

  7. Roy said,

    April 17, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    As additional support for Greenbaggins in 3:
    1) Observe that the Solomon also wrote Pr 26:4,5. Ecclesiastes applys those proverbs.
    2) Solomon would have understood his father’s agony in Ps 32. Solomon’s testimony against himself in Ecclesiastes echoes Ps 32.
    3) I’ve not read Longman on Ecclesiastes. But to the extent the reports posted above are accurate, Longman has taken exactly the wrong approach. Rather than start from the infallible word, he attempted to explain it. Starting conviction makes all the difference.

  8. Ken Pierce said,

    April 19, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Glad to hear that someone is adding to the intepretive canon on Ecclesiastes. I found Longman to be of no help –one wonders why he bothered to write the commentary.

    On the other hand, Charles Bridges is my Ecclesiastes hero!

  9. G.C. Berkley said,

    April 20, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    I can’t wait to get the commentary on Acts, I like Peterson’s book on sanctification from the NSBT series…hope this is as good as I expect it to be…


Leave a Reply

