They’re Ready Today

The ESV Study Bible is ready to ship today from the WTS bookstore! And, seemingly coincidentally (wink, wink), a new economy shipping option is available for orders under $35 ($3 for USPS). Only the hardback version is under $35.

Here are the various options: Hardback, Genuine Leather Black, Genuine Leather Burgundy, Tru-tone black, Tru-tone brown, Bonded leather black (um…why? when you can get the genuine leather for only $12 more?), Bonded leather burgundy (ditto), and Premium Calfskin (pricey, but definitely the most long-lasting choice).

23 Comments

  1. October 9, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    For some reason I did not realize this had not yet appeared. I guess I was thinking of the Reformation Study Bible ESV.

    Just for fun, the ESV I am most anticipating is due out in January. The English Standard Version Bible with Apocrypha, from Oxford University Press. So no one thinks I am making this up, http://www.amazon.com/English-Standard-Version-Bible-Apocrypha/dp/0195289102/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1223596779&sr=8-1

  2. Paul M. said,

    October 9, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I bought it today at Baker bookstore :-D

  3. Paul M. said,

    October 9, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    “And, seemingly coincidentally (wink, wink), a new economy shipping option is available for orders under $35”

    I skipped over that the first read. Heh heh ;-)

  4. Paul M. said,

    October 9, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    Just for that I’ll buy my wife one from WTS

  5. October 10, 2008 at 11:31 am

    I wonder when Crossway will start shipping the preorders. I preordered after GA this year on a special deal they had for the PCA. Now I’m starting to suffer from deferred gratification, that insidious crippler of youth. Oh, the humanity…

  6. greenbaggins said,

    October 10, 2008 at 11:52 am

    LOL!

  7. donaldkim said,

    October 10, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Oh. Sorry for assuming. Haha. I’m looking forward to getting a copy for myself soon.

  8. Aaron Sauer said,

    October 10, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Rejoice Software has the best pre-order pricing that I have seen for the ESV Study Bible. Check it out at http://rejoicesoftware.com/esv.htm

  9. Laurence K Wells said,

    October 11, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Has anyone compared it to the Reformation Study Bible? Would there be any point in owning both?

  10. October 11, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Laurence,

    Good question. I have both the NKJV (New Geneva Study Bible) and ESV (Reformation Study Bible) versions. They have excellent theological notes. The inclusion of the bulk of J.I. Packer’s Concise Theology as theological notes makes the Reformation Study Bible well worth owning and using regularly. If I could own only one study Bible (perish the thought!), that would be it.

    I preordered the ESV Study Bible because it looked to have more historical/geographical information (like the NIV Study Bible) from the advanced advertising. I will be able to compare them better when my deferred gratification is eased after 15 October. I find multiple, orthodox perspectives to be a valuable aid in my studies, and these two appear to complement each other. FWIW, the ESV Study Bible seems to be more like the NKJV Nelson Study Bible in note focus.

    In the interest of full disclosure, I probably have 10 or more different printed study Bibles, not counting interlinears and parallels, that range from the 1599 Geneva Bible (my #2 favorite) to the Reformation Study Bible (the NKJV version is my top choice and most used) in age. I have more electronically in the Logos system. If you are looking for a restrained outlook on this subject, I may not be the right source. :-)

  11. October 11, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Hmmm. FWIW, it looks like both WTS and Rejoice have significantly better prices for the ESV Study Bible than the “special price” offered by Crossway in June at General Assembly. Live and learn…

  12. Laurence K Wells said,

    October 11, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Thanks, Reformedmusings. Frankly, I own only two Study Bibles: the NIV and the Reformation. And I spend more time with my Greek Testament than either one. Even more frankly, I have developed a suspicion of the Study Bible genre, since I have found it necessary more than once to explain that what’s in the notes is really not the Inspired Word of God. With my youth group someone wanted me to promote some kind of chintzy “Teen-Agers Adventure Bible,” with articles on the spiritual benefits of skate-boarding and similar nonsense. Christian Bookstores these days are scarey places. So I opted for the most rudimentary, un-annotated, edition of the ESV I could find, with all words inspired by the Holy Ghost printed in the same black ink. The kids like it just fine, thank you very much, and seem to enjoy reading verses in turn, going around the circle in which they sit. When we move along to a Study Bible, they will know the distinction between the Word of Go and word of man.
    Study Bibles, properly used, are valuable tools. But in the minds of the laity, they tend to bury the perspicacity or perspicuity of the Word, making people feel that they are dependent on scholarly glosses. That was false in 1517 and its is false today, even if the glossing is made by sound Reformed scholars.

  13. ReformedSinner said,

    October 12, 2008 at 5:06 am

    #12,

    I have to disagree. Perspicuity of the Word is fine, but laity do need help (and be humbled in my opinion) to realize they can’t simply pickup the Bible and become instant theologians that understands all there is to. In my experiences teenagers got bored by the Bible pretty quick because they think they’ve figured everything out. The Gospel is as it is and all the others are just a bunch of do-s and don’t-s. Sure they do love to read the Word, but merely as some type of emotional bonding experience (since they figured everything out) and not as Word that can rebuke, challenge, change, etc. Of course the same goes for adults.

    A good study Bible on the other hand challenges them, and at the very least for them to realize that Biblical words need to be understood in context, and many times their modern English conceptions of some of the words need to be challenged. It humbles them, and make them realize the Word of God is not something you can simply gloss over and understand them, but it needs to be read and re-read and study all your life. To cherish and enjoy and be repeatedly challenged by them.

    I really don’t think the problem of Evangelicals Christians is in the perspicuity of Scripture, in fact it is exactly majoring on this doctrine that is one of the tenants of Evangelicalism – there is no need for Confessions and historic creeds to help us, we have the Bible in clear message.

  14. Laurence K. Wells said,

    October 12, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    “one of the tenants of Evangelicalism ”
    I think you meant “tenets of Evanglicalism. And I do not think you read my comment closely.

  15. October 12, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Laurence,

    I don’t generally disagree with #12. I do find the study Bibles can provide valuable background in history and geography for the reader. Good theological notes can help a reader relate the text to overarching concepts. But you are right, the notes are not inspired. I sometimes joke about the notes being inspired to keep my students honest and make sure that they are listening. That pretty much prevents the problem that you describe.

    A very useful study tool without textual notes is the Thompson Chain Reference Bible. It relates verses together in chains by numbers. It’s a nice aid in working through the analogy of faith on specific verses by connecting them to similar ones across Scripture by topic. It’s a somewhat different system than Nave’s and more useful when reading though the Bible. Although the system isn’t inspired, either, it served me well for many years after I first trusted Christ. Like you say, I wasn’t interested in what people said at the time, I just wanted to hear what God said on matters. Since then, of course, I’ve come to value (but not worship) the work of our fathers in the faith.

  16. Laurence K. Wells said,

    October 12, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    Thank you for reflecting with me. Like you, I value the work of our fathers in the faith. Smatter of fact, I am an Anglican and probably could not satisfy you on “Scriptura sola.” My complaint about Study Bibles is that they put the inspired text (in translation, of course) on the very same page as the notes. This leads naive people into thinking “well, it’s in the Bible, isn’t it,” and failing to make the crucial distinction you and I agree on. Both NIV and Reformation Study Bibles use different typefaces, which should keep the distinction. And as you acknowledge, some Study Bibles are worse than others. I ran across one which had Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address and MLKing’s “I have a dream” speech interspersed with OT Books. You may have seen Masonic Bibles, and of course there is that classic produced by C. I. Scofield. How many people have believed in Ussher’s chronology because it was in the margins of their Bibles? I very much like the two that I use, but am simply pointing out a danger in the genre.

  17. October 13, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Laurence,

    Thank you for your interaction.

    I am an Anglican…

    I promise not to hold it against you. :-)

    I ran across one which had Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address and MLKing’s “I have a dream” speech interspersed with OT Books.

    Ouch! I do all my book shopping online so missed that jewel. As you said earlier, Christian bookstores can be very scary places. I prefer to get my fiction from the SciFi Channel.

    I very much like the two that I use, but am simply pointing out a danger in the genre.

    Agreed!

  18. October 14, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Is the ESV Study Bible in proper English (Anglicanised)? Part of me is tempted to agree with Bob’s comment regarding the Reformation Study Bible:

    “If I could own only one study Bible (perish the thought!), that would be it.”

    However, having Americanisms in the ENGLISH Standard Version is just too much to take….LOL!

  19. October 14, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Woohoo! My ESV Study Bible showed up today! It’s a big one, with a large number of articles in the back. It seems to fulfill the hopes I had in getting it, with lots of historical and geographic information. I haven’t dug deep into it yet, but may write something up on it…maybe as part of the larger topic of study Bibles.

  20. October 15, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Daniel,

    I’d love to answer your question, but how would I know the difference? I’m just a dumb American who things that we speak the REAL English language. :-)

  21. October 15, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Guess you would not know real English if you saw it? I once heard Don Kistler say that he knew an elder woman who considered the American spelling of “Savior” to be heresy.

  22. October 15, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Ah, so lots of extraneous letters define Anglicanized English? Sorry, I didn’t see a lot of extra letters in the ESV Study Bible. It’s quite letter-efficient, so Don’s friend would apparently not be pleased. :-)

  23. ReformedSinner said,

    October 15, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    True story, when my sister and her husband was then working on their marriage invitations, they got into a fight about how to spell the word: “honor” or “honour.”

    I was only 14 at the time and I was like… what the….


Leave a Reply

