Clarifying Post

Having received an email from a faculty member of WTS explaining some clarifications, I do feel it incumbent on me to clarify my preceding post. I certainly do not mean to imply that all faculty members of WTS are ignorant of the problem indicated, nor that all faculty members rejoice in the fragmentation of knowledge. Indeed, it is to Carl Trueman that I owe the idea of pursuing the topic of the unity of theological discourse, and seeking to become a generalist theologian. Certainly also, Jeff Jue, Scott Oliphint, Richard Gaffin, Lane Tipton, Vern Poythress and others are dedicated to the unity of theological discourse. What I meant was that it still did not seem emphasized enough at the seminary. And, given the confusion that has been milling around in the seminary for the past few years, including the years I was there (2000-2004), it seemed an adequate description of the seminary at the time. I freely admit that the fragmentation of the departments was not always there, and I fervently hope it will not be there in future.

3 Comments

  1. Sam Sutter said,

    August 15, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I agree that fragmentation is an unfair description of the WTS curriculum. I was there 2003-2006, and found it remarkable how much synthesis was in the program and the lectures. At times it was annoying because I felt like the tests had a lot of overlap and sometimes it was hard to remember which txt we read for what class on the same class within disciplines. (OT vs ST vs AP vs NT… more than once seemed to have essay questions presented with an awful lot of overlap.

  2. ReformedSinner said,

    August 15, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Perhaps my experience is different, but I attended from 2001-2005 and seems to have overlapped your years. There is a synthesis between ST-AP, but I was repeatedly frustrated by some BT courses. Yes there are overlapping books assigned and tested (like Vos), but with different take and interpretation on the same materials. I remember trying my hardest thinking it should be cohesive and I must be too dumb to recognize it, all the while hitting dead ends.

  3. Sam Sutter said,

    August 17, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I remember starting off by reading Vos’ Intro to BT where he talked about the “Division of Theology Into Four Great Departments”. And I tended to agree with Vos.


Leave a Reply

