Inerrancy – A WTS Reminder

by Reed DePace

This past week I received a mailing from my alma mater, Westminster Theological Seminary. Sent to all teaching elders in the PCA, it included a cover letter from Dr. David B. Garner (asc. prof., syst. theo.) and a DVD on the subject of inerrancy.

The DVD provides a summary WTS’s defense of the doctrine of inerrancy. It includes three parts: 1) Dr. Garner’s introduction and then narration of the subject matter on the DVD, 2) WTS board-member Dr. Harry Reeder’s explanation of the seriousness of the need to defend inerrancy yet again in our current era, and 3) Dr. Vern Poythress’s explanation of WTS’ document, Affirmations and Denials on the Doctrine of Scripture.

This document was adopted by the Board of WTS in December, 2008. Since then it has been adopted by some PCA Presbyteries as a helpful clarification of chapter 1 of the Westminster Confession of Faith in relation to the recent attacks on the doctrine of inerrancy.

If you are a TE in the PCA, I urge you to consider taking two actions: 1) watching and listening to the DVD you’ve received from WTS, and 2) taking action to have your presbytery adopt this statement as a response to the current attacks on inerrancy. If you are not a PCA TE, I urge you to recommend these actions to any PCA TE’s you know.

We need to stand up now and defend this most vital doctrine of our faith. A whole new generation is in jeopardy. Let it not be said that our faith was faithless in response to this threat against God’s veracity.

by Reed DePace

8 Comments

  1. Roger du Barry said,

    July 28, 2011 at 1:28 am

    Heartening to see a seminary defending six day creation.

  2. Reed Here said,

    July 28, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    Roger, amen.

  3. Roger du Barry said,

    August 3, 2011 at 2:23 am

    I believe that any man who claims to be an exegete, and who denies the historical six day creation, has disqualified himself. If he gets such an important issue wrong, he has demonstrated his inability to understand plain prose, which on its own makes it impossible to trust his teaching.

  4. Paul Park said,

    August 9, 2011 at 11:34 am

    Hi. As important as I find this doctrine and as must as I agreed for its defense, I think one aspect often forgotten is ‘how’ to defend the truth. That if we have won the discussion/argument but have lost the opposition, something has gone amiss.

  5. August 18, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    Roger, WTS is not necessarily defending six-day creation. The document says, “We affirm that God’s acts of creation, as listed in each of the six days of Genesis 1, really happened in space and time. (WCF 4.1; WLC 15.)” This carefully worded statement still allows for framework, analogical days, or day-age. It does not say these events happened in six days.

    Still, I LOVE the document overall. I’d like to see it adopted in Palmetto Presbytery, if it hasn’t already been adopted.

  6. August 18, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Paul, sometimes when you win the argument, losing the opposition is inevitable. If the argument is important enough (inerrancy of Scripture, federal vision), then the men who lose must either recant or depart. In those cases, their departure from the pulpit or the classroom is not a real loss to the church or seminary.

  7. Paul Park said,

    August 22, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Jason, I don’t disagree with you in terms of all important doctrines that we must keep. But (I was unclear), there are different manners of ‘how’ we win the argument, I could be wrong but I usually find the opposition is lost because of how we win, not that we win. And yes, the context of a person in position of teaching is different and must be treated more strictly, but I do believe, lay people or students learn from the teachers’ ‘manner’ of arguing and my fear is that they learn pride, rather than humble defense.

  8. Cally D. G. said,

    February 22, 2012 at 8:06 am

    My husband claims I’m TE, but being the ‘bent’ that God created the world I assumed God did it, whether in 6 days or 6000 days, God wrote it, God made and I must be more TR in this sense of the abbreviation of the opinion of man….the thing I have been pondering this last week is Christ’s return, he was in hell for 3 days preaching His gospel, does that mean when He returns it will take 3000yrs to get His message across and judgement simply means that Scripture will fulfill itself whether I write and/or ponder someone elses’ interpretation of the Word of God. Will Christ’s judgement be forceful and all consuming and/or will Christ’s love be so overwhelming as when he was in hell people’s spirit’s will have no other choice in the matter…but, alas I am rabbit trailing in my mind and need to get back to work. I like what you wrote Paul. Very interesting about pride and being humble….sorry to get off topic. When the Enns vs. TR debate came about I thought it was too public for Christians to debate something this obscure in Scripture, because to me it seemed as if you were debating man’s opinion of the Bible, not God’s. I truly believed Lot’s wife became a pillar of salt until my husband and the a woman’s bible study out here began opening all of the gospel message to me. God’s speed for the day and his blessing. I get too addicted to blogging so will let you discuss among yourselves….my biggest question would be did Christ fulfill every ‘man’ role in scripture?…the ungodly and godly, he was human and God and represented the entire spectrum of the old Testament? It states in Isaiah he needed to learn obedience just as us. He meaning Christ obviously learned it at a much earlier state then myself who will die in my sin. He understood Lucifer and Satan, he understood the dead and the living. I’ll talk to my husband about this matter….I am finally loving the reformed faith…took me awhile how rich it is in the whole of God’s Word…so I guess being a Christian I need to discern what needs to be public and what needs to be private and knowing my audience. God’s speed for the day meaning His Blessing.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

