Preachers To Whom I Listen

I thought this might be a helpful post telling people about some good preachers, and where to find their sermons. These are listed in alphabetical order by last name. Now, I’m sure that there are many great Reformed and Presbyterian preachers that I don’t have listed here. If there are names that are not listed here that you think should be, list them in the comments. I am only looking for Reformed confessional preachers, or Reformed Baptist confessional (as in, London Baptist Confession) preachers. It would be great to have a relatively complete listing, along with the link to where you can find their sermons. It is my goal to listen to one or two sermons from every one of these men through the course of the next year.

Logan Almy, Thabiti Anyabwile, Andrew Barnes, Nick Batzig, Joel Beeke, Alistair Begg, Michael Brown, Iain Campbell, Brian Carpenter, Kevin Carr, Stafford Carson, Jim Cassidy, Andrew Compton, Iain Duguid, Reed DePace, Mark Dever, Ligon Duncan, Sinclair Ferguson, Ron Gleason, Liam Goligher, Fred Greco, Martin Hedman, Michael Horton, Chris Hutchinson, Danny Hyde, Gary Johnson, Lee Johnson, Matthew Judd, Daniel Kok, Steven Lawson, Sean Lucas, Ryan McGraw, Joe Morecraft, Danny Patterson, Jon Payne, Rick Phillips, Tim Phillips, Ken Pierce, John Piper, Guy Richard, Kim Riddlebarger, Art Sartorius, R.C. Sproul, Jason Stellman, Derek Thomas, John Tweeddale, Andy Webb, Wes White

58 Comments

  1. Bill W. Murray said,

    June 19, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    See what you think about Alistair Begg. Sermons can be found at

    http://www.truthforlife.org/resources/

    There is a blurb about him in Wikipedia also.

  2. greenbaggins said,

    June 19, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks, Bill. He was one I was trying to remember, but I couldn’t quite, but I knew someone would give me his name. Thanks.

  3. Scott Dennis said,

    June 19, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Also, Danny Hyde

    http://www.sermonaudio.com/source_detail.asp?sourceid=oceansideurc

  4. greenbaggins said,

    June 19, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Of course! Thanks, Scott, I’ve added him.

  5. greenbaggins said,

    June 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    Benjamin, Morecraft I know, but who is John Greer?

  6. Matt Viney said,

    June 19, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    “Preachers to whom I listen?”
    What are you, Yoda?

    Why not just say “preachers I listen to”?

    ;-)

  7. Matthew Holst said,

    June 19, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    You must listen to Ian Hamilton of Cambridge Presbyterian Church, England.

    http://www.cambridgepres.org.uk/sermons.html

  8. John Harutunian said,

    June 19, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    OK, you guys aren’t Episcopalians, so I can understand your excluding N.T. Wright. BUT: Where’s Tim Keller? (A Presbyterian who is probably my favorite living Christian writer.)

  9. Walter Geerson said,

    June 19, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    http://www.spiritempoweredpreaching.com Arturo Azurdia III

  10. Ron said,

    June 19, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Lane,

    Select sermons from Bob Letham can be found here.

    The ones that are listed as January 1, 2000 seem to be from the days he served as senior minister at Emmanuel, OPC. The 2009 listed messages might include lectures (union with Christ for instance), though he does still preach quite a bit.

  11. Ron said,

    June 19, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Here’s a better link that should take you write to some of RWAL’s sermons.

  12. wsparkman said,

    June 19, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    May I suggest another category addition for that already overcrowded sidebar?

  13. June 19, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I thought after the Esther/Ruth commentary review Iain Duguid would for sure be on this list, but alas. Here is a link to his recent sermons:

    http://www.christarp.com/virtual_service.asp

    Also, Ted Hamilton of New Life PCA in Escondido is someone to listen to here:

    http://www.christarp.com/virtual_service.asp

  14. June 19, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    John Piper is a confessional Baptist? I didn’t think the part-Baptist/part-charismatic/part-Reformed Piper was anything in particular, confessionally speaking. I could be wrong, though (who? me?)

  15. June 20, 2011 at 8:34 am

    GB,

    John Greer is a minister in the Free Presbyterian Church of Ulster.

  16. greenbaggins said,

    June 20, 2011 at 11:02 am

    Matt Viney, “to whom I listen” is grammatically correct, and is better than ending a sentence with a preposition, which is not good English style, however common a practice it might be. John Harutunian, Tim Keller may be a great preacher (I wouldn’t know, since I haven’t heard him), but he does not have the reputation of being confessional. Ron, is Letham currently preaching, or has he stopped? I would prefer to keep the list to current preachers. Austin, I have added Duguid for sure, but I don’t know Ted Hamilton. Richard, the list is a bit subjective, and Piper is not solidly confessional, that is true, but most of his messages are. Benjamin, since I don’t know Greer, I probably won’t add him. It is enough that his name is in the comments. Wayne, why do you suggest that I add another category?

  17. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 20, 2011 at 11:51 am

    Preachers and former preachers of my generation (now in or nearing retirement) were greatly influenced by the Reformed Baptist Albert N. Martin. In his prime, he was a pulpit presence of almost overwhelming power. It’s a tired old term, but “awesome” is an apt description of Al Martin’s gifts for discriminating application to the heart.

    I’ve often told young preachers that “Once you’re finished with your sermon, including the application, then you’re ready to begin working on the application.” Even with the great expositors of today, I often feel that, compared to Al Martin, there is no application in preaching.

    Many of Pastor Martin’s classic messages are at http://www.sermonaudio.com and at http://www.sg-audiotreasures.org/am_index.htm.

  18. joe said,

    June 20, 2011 at 11:53 am

    Greenbaggins–

    I wonder about your omission of Keller (and Bryan Chapell, who you also leave off your list) as ‘not confessional’. You put on your list preachers like–Anyabwile, Begg, Carson, Duguid, Dever, Duncan, Ferguson,Goligher, Horton,Lucas, R.Phillips, Pierce, Piper, Sproul, Thomas—most of which are in the Gospel Coalition with Keller and Chapell. Few in that group would characterize themselves as much more theologically conservative or confessional than Keller and Chapell. So why leave those two out? If you simply don’t think those two are as skillfull in preaching as the others, of course, that would be reason enough to leave them off the list. Just wondering…..

  19. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 20, 2011 at 11:57 am

    My pastor Sean Lucas’s final sermon on Ecclesiastes (May 29, 2011) is a fine example of him at his best — Warm, clear, simple yet careful exposition, Gospel-centered. Follow link on first post, above.

  20. greenbaggins said,

    June 20, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    Joe, Keller I leave off because I do not believe he is solidly confessional. Chapell I leave off because I’m not particularly fond of his style of preaching. There are good things in his book on preaching, don’t get me wrong (I especially appreciate his “fallen condition focus”). However (and I noticed this especially in his Ephesians commentary), he uses illustrations in a distracting way. Some people would call him “rich” in illustrative material. For me, the illustrations are all too often tangential to the point of the text. I believe in being much more careful about illustrations. For me, the illustrations need to be hitting the text on more than one level in order to be effective. Give me one well-rounded hitting-on-more-than-one-level illustration that I can bring back later in the sermon than several illustrations that are only loosely related to the text. It comes down to this: when you think of that text in the future, are you going to be derailed into the application you heard? Or, when you think of the illustration, is it going to drag you back to the text? I prefer the latter to the former.

  21. joe said,

    June 20, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    OK – Well, I’m not sure what ‘solidly confessional means, then, because its hard to see how Ferguson, Lucas, Duguid, Piper, Begg, and Goligher would be much different from Keller in their preaching style, theology, and emphases.

  22. June 20, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    I’ve always felt that Chapell’s “Fallen Condition Focus,” while sort of helpful in bringing in the gospel, also tends to make the whole thing way too existential. As in, rather than focusing on the redemptive-historical issue of who Christ is and what he has done, it becomes more about how I can relate to the struggles that the various Bible characters faced, and how God can help me the way he did them.

    But that’s just me (and I’d take that kind of preaching over 75% of what we usually hear in American evangelicalism, that’s for sure).

  23. paigebritton said,

    June 20, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    Like Reed, Chris Hutchinson has a fine sense of balance between law & gospel in his preaching and a winsome way of speaking grace to a congregation. Here’s his church’s site:

    http://www.gracecovenantpca.org/

  24. Jim Butler said,

    June 20, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    I’ll second the Albert N. Martin recommendation.

    I also like Dale Ralph Davis’ preaching.

    Jim

  25. June 20, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Lane, Lane, Lane: “who I listen to” (including ending a sentence with a preposition) is perfectly acceptable English. Who says so? C. S. Lewis, for one. He wrote somewhere that the only reason it was supposedly wrong to end a sentence with a preposition was because “some uppity London dude in a ruffle” (I paraphrase) decided, just on his own say-so, that he wanted English to be more like Latin. But, as Lewis points out (I wish I could remember where he wrote this), there is no reason inherent in the English language itself as to why you can’t end a sentence that way. And, of course, Winston Churchill made a famous sarcastic remark on that subject, as well…

  26. greenbaggins said,

    June 21, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Paige, I have added Chris’s information. Jim, I still am more comfortable with names I know. I know Dale Ralph Davis, but he is now retired. I think of him more as a commentator anyway. I do buy everything he writes, as he is one of my four favorite living OT commentators.

    Richard, call me a snob, then. But there is nothing wrong with the construction as I have it, either. I just don’t prefer to end my sentences with a preposition. I’m sure that every grammatical rule I learned will probably go the way of the dodo bird, but not in my writing! The other rule that people break all the time is the “no split infinitive” rule. It really drives me crazy when I see “to really want to do something,” instead of “to want to do something very much.”

  27. Jim Butler said,

    June 21, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Lane,

    You’ve never heard of Albert N. Martin?

    Also, I know that Dale Ralph Davis is retired, but you can find many of his sermons here: http://www.woodlandpca.com/html/sermons.html

    jim

  28. Phil Derksen said,

    June 21, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    “I think of him more as a commentator”

    Substitute “theologian” for “commentator”, and I assume this is why R. Scott Clark isn’t in this list of “preachers” too – right?

  29. Larry Wilson said,

    June 21, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    I suppose your list is already too long to be manageable, but I’d like to suggest that you consider giving an occasional listen to OPC pastors William Shishko and A. Craig Troxel.

  30. andrew said,

    June 21, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Ted Donnelly is outstanding – Trinity RPC, with some messages available on SermonAudio. The small denomination may explain why he is not better known.

    Still, was one of the speakers at the Calvin500 conference in Geneva, 2009, and speaks regularily for Al Martin.

  31. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 21, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    I direct all my brothers to Al Martin’s legendary message from 1986, “Biblical Perspectives on the Destruction of the Space Shuttle Challenger,” streaming or free mp3 download on this page: http://www.sg-audiotreasures.org/am.htm.

    1986 was the era of cassette tapes, remember. I had to wait several weeks before this message was available. I will never forget the stunning impact it had on me and my wife. This sermon struck me like an Old Testament prophet wrapped in an earthquake, followed by a tsunami. Pastor Martin preached another fine message after the 9-11 attacks, but IMO nothing has ever matched the mighty power of the 1986 Challenger sermon. I will listen to it again this week.

  32. Jim Butler said,

    June 21, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    I agree with Frank (#32)!

    Jim

  33. Matt Viney said,

    June 21, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    I don’t really care how this post is titled, but, concurring with Richard Zuelsch’s comments above, I question whether ‘Preachers to whom I listen’ is gramatically superior to saying ‘Preachers I listen to”. Oxfordictionaries.com says this:
    “There’s no necessity to ban prepositions from the end of sentences. Ending a sentence with a preposition is a perfectly natural part of the structure of modern English.”

    It may be one’s preference, but the “don’t end in a preposition” is a more a matter of taste than anything else.

    No big deal. Just saying, that’s all.

    peace

  34. Philip Stewart said,

    June 21, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Hello

    Appreciate and enjoy the blog. As a Brit, can I add a couple of recommendations? Two Scottish preachers – Eric Alexander, now retired but formerly minister of my own church, St George’s Tron, Glasgow. Sermons can be accessed here: http://www.ericalexander.co.uk/index.php
    Other Scot is Donald Macleod, professor of systemic theology at the Free Church College in Edinburgh. A couple of sermons can be accessed here: http://www.dowanvale.org/index.php/sermons-online/
    And finally, what about your own John Sartelle of Tate’s Creek Presbyterian Church in Lexington, Kentucky? My wife worked at the University of Kentucky for a year – I greatly appreciated his warm expository ministry: http://www.tcpca.org/Audio/Menu

    All solidly Reformed/confessional!

    Philip Stewart

  35. June 21, 2011 at 11:58 pm

    Hmmm. Well, if the semi-Reformed John Piper has made the list, then the semi-Reformed John MacArthur should be on the list as well – and, he’s a better preacher than Piper, in my semi-humble opinion.

  36. Tim Prussic said,

    June 22, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Richard Zuelch, Dangling prepositions are slightly less offensive than split infinitives. To correctly use our words is where it’s at.

  37. Cris Dickason said,

    June 22, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Lane: Appreciate your point about a solid, multi-level illustration that can be referenced more than once in the sermon. That is an excellent communication tool. Bill Snodgrass, pastor of Germantown OPC*, recently preached a sermon with an illustration that in the military one is not free to alter the issued uniform to suit personal taste, preference, etc. One conforms to the uniform, and not the other way round. The text was 1 Cor 15:1-4 (approx). The Gospel of God is that uniform to which we must all accept and to which we are conformed. We do not alter the Gospel to suit ourselves. It was an excellent illustration, and Mr. Snodgrass returned to it a couple of times in the sermon, to powerful effect.

    On the projected historical-grammatical level, we know split infinitives ultimately win out, since in a few hundred years Capt. Kirk will out there, to boldly split infinitives where no man has split them before. And he’ll put prepositions at the end of sentences.

    * that’s a neighborhood in Philadelphia, folks

  38. Jonathan Bonomo said,

    June 22, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    Peter Wallace:

    http://www.michianacovenant.org/worship/sermons1.html

  39. gagebrowning Browning said,

    June 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    GB,
    I would highly recommend Al Martin as well. He preached a series on Hell that was way good. One sermon is called, “Hell is a place and a condition of constant, endless, suffering, misery, torment and woe.” Also would highly recommend Ian Hamilton. He did a lesson on “Experimental Calvinism” at Banner of Truth a couple fo years ago that was greatness. Obviously a totally different style than Al Martin but very good.

  40. June 22, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Tim Prussic: LOL Well done, lad, well done! It’s nice to read someone who knows how to wrangle with the English language and win!

    You must be proud that there’s an acid named for you!

  41. Jamin Hubner said,

    June 22, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Maybe I’m missing something, but since when is John Piper (or his church) 1689 Confessional?
    jamin h
    realapologetics.org

  42. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 23, 2011 at 6:48 am

    I remember the 1970’s, when a number of young preachers became Al Martin “clones.” They ended up looking and sounding foolish, almost comical in some cases. We should learn from great men, but we must never try to imitate their style. Being schooled in the Al Martin academy for applicatory preaching is far different from aping his mannerisms.

  43. Larry Wilson said,

    June 23, 2011 at 8:53 am

    Ha ha. That’s a good point, Frank @ 43. Still, I think that young ministers can do worse than to imitate a preacher who has set a good example for, and been a blessing to, them. Your post reminded me how I had so profited from the preaching of John P. Clark while I was a student at Westminster Seminary in the later 1970s. He had started out in the OPC, then took a call to the RPCES church where I sat under his ministry, and later became PCA with J&R. When I became a pastor, I largely imitated his approach (although, hopefully, not his mannerisms). Eventually, as my confidence grew, my own personality asserted itself and I developed my own style. But that was a very good way to start. In any case, inspired by these memories, I just did a random Google search and discovered that Pastor Clark has sermons posted online at http://www.drjohnpclark.com

    I neglected to include links in my earlier post @ 30.

    Hear William Shishko at http://www.sermonaudio.com/search.asp?subsetitem=William%20Shishko&subsetcat=speaker&keyword=opcli&keywordDesc=Orthodox+Presbyterian+Church+Franklin+Sq&SourceOnly=true&cu

    Hear Craig Troxel at http://thegospelcoalition.org/resources/name-index/a/A_Craig_Troxel/category/sermons

    And how could I have forgotten to commend O. Palmer Robertson? http://www.sermonaudio.com/search.asp?SpeakerOnly=true&currSection=sermonsspeaker&keyword=Dr.^O.^Palmer^Robertson

  44. Cris Dickason said,

    June 23, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    Larry! Sounds like you’re feeling well. I greatly appreciated being in the advisory committee for Home Missions at GA. You were mentioned as en example of what the OPC looks for in “church planters” – A good pastor!

    Cris Dickason
    WTS Boookstore (& degrees) 77-81
    TOPC, Hatboro

  45. John Harutunian said,

    June 23, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    Well, here’s the comment from the Episcopalian-in-residence. I just listened to some of Al Matin’s preaching. The man knows his Bible. BUT -it was some of the most “emotional” preaching I’ve ever heard. My understanding of the Reformed Confessions is that they downplay the value of emotional appeals in preaching.
    I can think of two possible solutions. One is that the Reformed tradition doesn’t speak with one voice (as it were) on this subject. The other is that an “expression” of emotion, however intense (and believe me, it was!), and an “appeal” to the emotions aren’t the same thing. Which?

  46. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 23, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    John,

    “Hang in there” with Pastor Martin. Yes, compared to a lot of Reformed preaching, he is certainly more “emotional.”

    To me, here’s the essence of Pastor Martin’s power: It’s not just the oratorical skills. Rather, it’s the powerful application that follows upon careful exposition. A typical Al Martin sermon proceeds like this: Using a fairly ordinary and prosaic outline (lots of “nature of” and “grounds for” divisions), he carefully, point by point, builds his case directly from the Scriptures. This portion of the message can sound rather routine. But then, at a certain point, he “launches” into the application based on the Biblical truths he’s already established. (My wife and I used to say, “Pastor Martin has entered the stratosphere.”) To change the image, at that moment the sermon becomes like a massive avalanche coming at you from all directions. But always, the “emotional” part of the sermon flows from solid, thorough, exposition; it is never a mere rant.

    In my opinion, Al Martin may come across as emotionally excessive only because of the lifeless, bloodless preaching we hear so often from Reformed pulpits. As I wrote earlier, I would warn against trying to copy Al Martin in this. His is a rather unusual style for our day, though I believe perfectly suited for his special gifts.

  47. Larry Wilson said,

    June 23, 2011 at 10:46 pm

    Chris @ 45,

    Thanks for the kind words. Hopefully, by God’s grace, I can semi-approximate them.

  48. susan said,

    June 25, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Rev. John Sawtelle, pastor of All Saints Reformed Church:

    http://allsaintsreformed.org/

  49. Deb said,

    June 25, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Thank you for this list! I have a somewhat lengthy commute to work and look forward to downloading some of these preachers’ sermons to listen to my drive.

    btw – Keller may not be everyone’s cup of tea or as confessionally-driven as some might prefer, but imho I believe he is one of the most Christ-exalting preachers to whom I enjoy listening.

    http://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/timothy-keller-podcast/id352660924

    Thanks, Deb

  50. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 25, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Al Martin’s classic nine-part series on “The Fear of God” (at Sovereign Grace Audio Treasures) would be a good place to start. I know a young Deacon in our church who listens to the entire series once every year.

  51. Constantine said,

    July 4, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Our church, which I believe is the 4th largest PCUSA denomination in the country, has been blessed with a very gifted young preacher.

    I can heartily recommend the preaching of Dr. Richard Kannwischer. His past sermons can be found here: http://www.sapres.org/worship/recent-sermons

    I hope all have a Blessed 4th!

  52. Ron said,

    July 4, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Wow, how did a PCUSA congregation get so large while its pastor preached against the “falling away” of his own denomination? Or hasn’t he preached that series yet?

  53. George Seagrim said,

    July 8, 2011 at 8:33 am

    The usage of great writers supports banning split infinitives, but does not lend the same support to avoiding prepositions at the end of sentences. Dryden, for instance, went through some of his works revising every sentence that ended with a preposition: which shows that it was not natural to him to write in that way, and it was in his time that the rule was promulgated as an artificial importation into English.

  54. Ron said,

    July 8, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I contacted the PCUSA church about membership and it was rather apparent that one could answer the required questions from a Mormon perspective and be accepted into membership. Who Jesus is what not a matter of objective fact but rather subjective opinion. “He’s my Lord and Savior” was the canned response. Moreover, Christ alone was not an issue.

    1) Who is Jesus Christ?

    Jesus Christ is my Lord and Savior.

    2) Trusting in the gracious mercy of God, do you turn from the ways of sin and renounce evil and its power in the world?

    I do.

    3) Will you be Christ’s faithful disciple, obeying his Word and showing his love?

    I will.

    4) Will you be a faithful member of this congregation, share in its worship and ministry through your prayers and gifts, your study and service, and so fulfill your calling to be a disciple of Jesus Christ?

    I will.

  55. Ryan said,

    July 15, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Looks like you might be missing Paul Washer. ;)

    Reformed Baptist

  56. Chris Poe said,

    July 18, 2011 at 1:03 am

    I agree with Ben about John Greer (and I’d add Alan Cairns as well.) Very warm evangelistic preaching. I try to catch the Ballymena Free Pres. live broadcast on Sermon Audio whenever I can. I think it’s always the evening evangelistic service. One of these days I’ll have to get up at the crack of dawn to catch the a.m. service.

    I’m not quite sure how strict subscriptionist he’d be considered, but Greer is far more confessional than Piper or Lawson, neither of whom come close to being able to affirm the 2nd London Baptist Confession.

    Lawson is dispensational. I’m not that familiar with him, but he appears to differ very little from MacArthur. Here is the doctrinal statement to which Lawson subscribes– http://www.christfellowship.cc/site/cpage.asp?cpage_id=112&sec_id=377

    IIRC Piper, following his teacher Fuller, denies the Covenant of Works. In the DG FAQ he doesn’t claim CT, NCT or Dispensationalism, but he’s probably closer to NCT than to any other camp.

    Washer is probably closest to the NCT camp. That’s basically what most of those closely associated with him believe.

    Albert Martin retired a few years ago. But along with Walter Chantry he’s one of a handful of men who is credited with leading the modern Reformed Baptist movement of 1689ers, etc. Others like Fred Malone and Greg Nichols could be added to the list. There are a good many confessional RB men who are not nearly as well known as Piper and Lawson but who probably would be as well known in their circles as some in the list are in their Pres/Reformed circles.

  57. Joseph D. said,

    January 29, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    What about Paul Washer?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

