A New Green Baggins

I have offered (and Paige has graciously accepted) a place on my blog’s editor team to Paige Britton. She has been contributing quite a bit to the blog recently, and has done some fantastic proof-editing for this year’s Confessional Presbyterian Journal, as well. She sent me her bio, which I reproduce here below. In the meantime, please give a warm welcome to her.

I grew up in the Washington, D.C. area, where I benefited from the youth ministry of Fourth Presbyterian Church in Bethesda, MD (this is how come I know the brothers Hutchinson). I earned a BA in English from Haverford College (PA), and later an MEd in Special Education from Millersville University (PA). I have been married for 17 years to my best friend, Josh, who is a computer programming and math teacher at a public high school in our area. We have two kids, 12 and 7. Before my son was born, I was a public school teacher (1st and 2nd grades) in our town. Since becoming a mom I have remained at home, and we’ve home schooled from the beginning. We live in southern Lancaster County, PA.

Despite the influence of the 4th Pres youth programs and Chris Hutchinson’s friendship, I never really knew anything about the Reformed expression of the faith till about twelve years ago. I was struck by the message of God’s sovereignty in Romans, and realized I had to re-learn my Christianity from the ground up. Since I was the only Reformed person I knew (close by), I had to learn all of this from books and Modern Reformation. It turned out I had a good head for the study of theology and just plain loved it, so I kept going. After some years of this, I was given some unexpected opportunities to write on Reformed topics. Also, about four years ago we found it necessary — for wise, not theological, reasons — to leave the small local evangelical church we’d been a part of, and we gravitated up the street — again for wise, not theological, reasons — to Faith Reformed Presbyterian Church (PCA). That’s where we’ve settled; I help out as the coordinator for the Adult SS program, which means I make sure there are teachers each quarter and sometimes create curriculum for them. Josh offers his musical gifts, especially with the kids. My writing has appeared in Modern Reformation, the World Reformed Fellowship website (www.wrfnet.org), and most recently Beginning with Moses. I like to edit other people’s writing, too.

17 Comments

  1. November 7, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Welcome aboard.

  2. Jeff Cagle said,

    November 7, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Fantastic, Paige! I’m sure you will be of great help here.

  3. Reed Here said,

    November 7, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Welcome sis.

  4. Pastor said,

    November 7, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    So now Paige is not only reading Old Testament commentaries while cooking spaghetti, but she’s blogging too?

  5. chris hutchinson said,

    November 7, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    For the record, Paige has always been a wise, humble and faithful Christian ever since I knew her in (our quite pagan) High School, even before my own conversion. Oh, and in the Bible Studies we were in together, I threw out Reformed stuff (I think), but we just didn’t know it! Congratulations, Paige; you’ve been doing great writing these past few years and the PCA is better for it. So glad God brought you and Josh to us!

  6. Paige Britton said,

    November 8, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Thanks, brothers. You are very kind. (And yes, Gary, I’m a total multi-tasker!)

    When Lane invited me (most unexpectedly) to do this, I accepted because I love GB, I love to write, and I trust Lane’s judgment. But I do this new thing with some trepidation; my interactions here this past year and a half have always been one part chutzpah, two parts alarm that I have ventured to say anything at all. :) I know I’ve much to learn, so y’all should not hesitate to sharpen my thinking when you see that I need it.

    gratefully,
    Paige B.

    p.s. — #4 is referring to my mischievous speculation to my pastors that now I can inflict on the world gems such as “The Art and Science of Dusting One’s Theological Library” and “How Not to Burn the Spaghetti While Reading OT Commentaries.” :)

  7. greenbaggins said,

    November 8, 2010 at 10:00 am

    Paige, you gotta print those articles here. With titles like that, how could you possibly hesitate?

  8. Paige Britton said,

    November 8, 2010 at 10:38 am

    Ha, you watch out, I just might.

  9. grit said,

    November 8, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Ahhh…. Welcome. Welcome.

    But is she an orange Baggins, a green Baggins, a Took-Baggins, a Sackville-Baggins, a Chubb-Baggins, a Brandybuck-Baggins, or an outright Labingi?

    May we at least call her “Rosie”?

  10. greenbaggins said,

    November 8, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Rosie doesn’t work. Rosie married Sam Gamgee, not a Baggins. Belladonna Took married Bungo Baggins and became Bilbo’s mother. So how about Belladonna? What do you say, Paige?

  11. grit said,

    November 8, 2010 at 11:56 am

    oh, oh….. you’re in real trouble now, Mr. Green jeans, for posting that house-moms don’t work. Yessir, that’s what I read. *where’s my deaconess files?* LOL.

  12. grit said,

    November 8, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    BTW, Mrs. Britton, I loved your article over at WRF on authority, submission, and necessary gifts, but not so much the ‘clipped wings’ part, even with the making of a conjoined peace.

    As you know, pockets of the PCA have had a tendency toward a hierarchy of offices (and gifts), almost as front and rear pockets, rather than an balanced emphasis on the guardianship of good deposit gifts in every pocket, where a pocket is a pocket regardless of type of use in wise and necessary differentiation.

    I guess what I’m trying to encourage without usurpation is, be the bird – you’ve got nice wings.

  13. greenbaggins said,

    November 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Har, har, Grit. Really hysterically funny. :-)

  14. Scott said,

    November 8, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Welcome aboard, indeed.

  15. Jeff Cagle said,

    November 8, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Given that she’s editing, she would have to have a scribal reference: Daeron, for instance. On the other hand, he didn’t turn out so well.

    Perhaps Aredhel or Galadriel?

  16. Paige Britton said,

    November 8, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Eowyn, please, “for I am no living man.” But of course I associate with Hobbits.

    Also, “Paige” is much preferable to “Mrs. Britton,” okay?

    Thanks, grit, for the props. Yeah, I know that there is a spectrum of practice within the PCA. But I guess I am not into shopping for a church based on my comfort level. Clipped wings don’t mean the wings are gone; and there is something unsentimentally sweet about taking the opportunity to not be a pain in the neck to the people who are pastoring me (because I probably could be!).

    pax,
    Paige B.

  17. grit said,

    November 8, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I’m told Éowyn means ‘delightful charger’, but I’m unsure of the Hobbitish Westron translation. I’m guessing Lisianthus, Freesius, or maybe Snapdragon. ;)

    LOL, Belladonna is also called Deadly Nightshade.

    Of course, here in the South, nothin’ charges like good ol’ Kudzu.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers

