I’m going back to the old template

I just don’t like the aesthetics of the new template that much (and I think losing the numbered comments isn’t going to work, either). I liked the old template better. However, in response to comments concerning the font size, I am going to be changing the font size that I use. In order to be easier on tired or aging eyes, I will use this medium font size. It’s a bit more work for me, but I am more than willing to do that to make it more readable for folks.

Note for moderators: Any future posts you would like to make need to have the code for medium font size around each and every paragraph. You can find the code here. All you have to do is copy and paste the <span style etc., and change from "x-small" to "medium" in the code, and then don't forget to close the bracket with the span closing. *New Edit* I am also using Garamond font. In the example linked, substitute garamond for comic sans ms and medium for the font size, and we’re all set.

13 Comments

  1. Stephen Welch said,

    July 9, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Hi, Lane. Yes, after working with the new format, I agree that I do not like it as well. I like the numbered comments. Thanks for the larger font. This is a great improvement. Missed seeing you at GA, but hope you enjoyed your parents anniversary celebration.

  2. Paige Britton said,

    July 9, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Oh, what a happy site (sight). :) Glad you are sticking with the numbers.

  3. louis said,

    July 9, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    I wasn’t digging it either. Good to see the old Greenbaggins back.

  4. Frank Aderholdt said,

    July 10, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Good move! The old shoe fits well. It’s really comfortable. And it’s really GREEN!

  5. William Hill said,

    July 10, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Lane,

    If you change the CSS file for posts you can change the font size there and then you will not have to add that code each time.

  6. greenbaggins said,

    July 10, 2010 at 9:20 am

    William, the only way I can do that with a WordPress dot com blog is to purchase the CSS upgrade, which I don’t really wish to do. I’m fine adding the codes, as I’ve put the instructions on my bookmarks page. It’s really not that difficult.

  7. Jeff Cagle said,

    July 10, 2010 at 11:45 am

    It was a nice experiment. Can you make the larger point font match the serifed heading font that is used for the titles of posts? The unserifed font is a bit garish.

  8. greenbaggins said,

    July 10, 2010 at 11:53 am

    Good point, Jeff, I’ll see what I can do.

  9. Tim Prussic said,

    July 10, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Looks good, Pastor. I like this one better. I wasn’t gunna say nuthin, but since you decided to change it back, I’m bringing it up! Bravo!

  10. Carter said,

    July 10, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    *whew* I liked this one much better as well. More traditional, a tad hobbity. Gladdens my soul :)

  11. Ron Henzel said,

    July 11, 2010 at 3:37 am

    I like change, except for when it calls for an adjustment on my part. I suppose the older I get, the more comfort I take in the familiar.

    Thanks, Lane!

  12. Dean B said,

    July 12, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Maybe you should market the new template as greenbaggins II and call the current template classic greenbaggins.

  13. Frank Aderholdt said,

    July 15, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Post #12 reminds me of a comment by the CEO of Coca-Cola after the “New Coke” debacle of the 1980’s. When asked if the whole New Coke-back to Classic Coke incident was intentional, he said, “To tell the truth, we’re not that dumb. And we’re not that smart, either.”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 349 other followers

