Trying Out a New Theme

Many people have said that GB needs a face lift. I really did like Thirteen, the theme I was using before. I had been extremely reluctant to change themes, for one crucial reason: none of the other themes that were green (a necessity with a name like Green Baggins) had numbered comments. Well, today, I decided to take the plunge and change themes anyway. I urge people in debate now to quote name and words of the person they are debating, so that people can still keep track of who is saying what. Any feedback on the new theme would, of course, be appreciated.

34 Comments

  1. Phil Derksen said,

    June 24, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Pastor Lane,

    I think having numbered comments is a very important feature on a blog like this. I thought the old theme was fine, although using a slightly larger font would perhaps be helpful to aging eyes…

  2. greenbaggins said,

    June 24, 2010 at 11:44 am

    I should add that I have contacted WordPress to see if I can get numbered comments added to this theme. We’ll see what happens.

  3. June 24, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I believe you can also link to comments that people have made for easy reference, or simply quote the date and time (as that will function just like numbered comments in terms of chronological order).

  4. greenbaggins said,

    June 24, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Excellent, Matthew. That would help a lot. Thanks.

  5. June 24, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    I like it so far! Matthew’s helpful hints sadly won’t work for past discussions though :/

  6. Cris D. said,

    June 24, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    Lane (canI call you Lane?):

    Thanks !! Much easier on the eyes. I appreciate the requirement of a green-tinged theme, but this is much better. You made the correct trade off: gain readability at the expense of numbered comments.

    So, have to ask, what’s the story or reason for the “Green Baggins” name? From the new “About” I see you’re a fellow WTS-PA alum. I’ve been a MontCo guy since my WTS days, if ever you’re back in the neighborhood, we’ll have to do a real-world meeting. I can get at least a few of the faculty to vouch for me, if necessary :-)

    -=Cris=-

  7. greenbaggins said,

    June 24, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    True, although who wants to dig up the past discussions of 400+ comments? ;-)

  8. greenbaggins said,

    June 24, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    Cris, of course you can call me Lane. I explain the title here:

    http://greenbaggins.wordpress.com/2005/08/26/the-title-2/

  9. William Hill said,

    June 24, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I like it! Very nice and clean. Easy to navigate and easy on the eyes.

  10. Lee said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Lane,

    Have you looked in to a wordpress add-on like Intense Debate?

    http://intensedebate.com/features

    That might give you threaded comments which could be very organized. Just a thought.

  11. greenbaggins said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Tried threaded comments once before. The result was chaos the very first time I had a thread that went over 100 comments. The only way it could work would be if there is some way to have an almost infinite degree of tabs. It is better to have the comments in chronological order.

  12. Lee said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I see, makes sense. I do like the new theme, well done.

  13. Ryan D. McConnell said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    Hmmm….

    I liked the old theme better but this one isn’t too shabby. The comments background color is a little dark but it’s still readable. Don’t care too much for the striped background image, though.

  14. Ryan D. McConnell said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Also, if you end up not using this one and are looking for another green theme, I’d recommend perhaps trying out the Green Light theme (and then changing the background color to a shade of green, maybe adding some gradiant bars on the left and right side of the content able) or perhaps maybe the One Room theme (saturating the background image to a more green color would looks nice).

    Also, as with Blogger, I’m sure there should be some XML+JS code that will put numbers next your comments.

  15. mary kathryn said,

    June 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    I like the little tufts of grass along the top :)

  16. Raja Dani said,

    June 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    This one’s nice, but it reminds me of Golf….for some reason.

  17. Tom Riello said,

    June 24, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Looks good!

  18. June 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Much easier to read and you keep a soft green. The army green was horrible.

  19. Reed Here said,

    June 24, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    Like it! Like it! Like it!

    Is this how I reference other posts? (Posted by Carol Noren Johnson on June 24, 2010 at 6:01 pm)

  20. Paige Britton said,

    June 24, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Oh, I will be the lone sad voice rooting for the original look. (When this one popped up, I thought I had hit a a Chemlawn site by accident.) But I will get used to anything for the sake of egghead dialogue, so don’t mind me. :)

    pb

  21. Paige Britton said,

    June 24, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    @ Reed Here on June 24, 2010 at 6:31 pm:

    How about replying like this? Easy cut-and-paste with an @ for direction.

  22. June 24, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    If it aint broke don’t….

    Has a grassy feal…

    I didn’t like the New Coke either…

    Grassy is good though…

    I’m agnostic on the matter – final answer.

    Ron

  23. Wayne Sparkman said,

    June 24, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    “I don’t like it,” Billy whined. “Change it back!”

    “But Billy, the man spent a lot of time thinking this through. I’m sure he meant well.”

  24. June 25, 2010 at 1:00 am

    Seems greener than the other one. Hmmm…

  25. Paige Britton said,

    June 25, 2010 at 6:13 am

    You know, I think the other one, besides being my favorite colors and NOT the pattern of a set of sheets I own, had a more low-key, humble feel that fit with my impressions of the Shire.

  26. Frank Aderholdt said,

    June 25, 2010 at 7:11 am

    The new design looks like a website for a local “feed and seed” store.

  27. Paige Britton said,

    June 25, 2010 at 7:17 am

    @ Frank Aderholdt on June 25, 2010 at 7:11 am:

    Not ours. (They haven’t figured out wallpaper yet. They could learn a thing or two from Lane. ;)

    http://www.rohrerfeeds.com/

  28. June 25, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I’m more of a blue kinda guy as you can probably tell from my blog, so shades of green are mostly irrelevant to me. I liked the numbered comments for long discussions, though, in the old theme. The time stamp is the only way now to track a particular comment now (I like Paige’s approach best so far), and it’s at the end of a short, dim line with low contrast, making it more difficult to scan. I think that long discussions will become very cumbersome and difficult to follow.

    But, as Wayne opined in his didactic approach, I’m sure that it’s well meant. C’est la guerre!

  29. Stephen Welch said,

    June 25, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    Lane, I really like the new format. I like the larger font and the nice color. It is very inviting. I do hope you can have the numbered comments. It makes a big difference.

    I hope to see you in Nashville next week.

  30. greenbaggins said,

    June 25, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    My parents are celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary next week, so I can’t go to GA this year. I’m working on the numbered comments. We’ll see what happens.

  31. Paige Britton said,

    June 25, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Hey, since numbered comments are so helpful, I wonder — if WordPress doesn’t come through on that for you, Lane, is there any way that the moderator genies could hand-number comments as they come thru, via editing access? (Note that I didn’t ask whether any of them would WANT to do this — I have an idea about the “who” too, only I didn’t know if it would be possible in the first place.)

  32. greenbaggins said,

    June 25, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Paige, I’m fairly certain that none of my mods would be willing to commit to a process as laborious as that. I have some threads with almost 1000 comments!

  33. Paige Britton said,

    June 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    Well, yeah, it would be too much of a stretch to number the old ones. But if someone were keeping up with a conversation from its beginning (even if not reading EVERY wordy word of some entries), it seems doable. And yeah, none of your mods would want to do such a tedious thing, even starting from the beginning of a thread. But if you get to a point where you’re stuck w/o numbers and you wish you had ‘em, I would be willing to do that. It seems worthwhile. So email me if you like. (You can ask Jason, I don’t mind doing boring background blog work. I tagged all his old entries for him this winter. Not that it was boring, actually.)
    pax!
    pb

  34. Beth-Anne said,

    June 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Hallo Guys and Gals, Please could somebody tell me what thoughts you might have about this video.

    It concerns Law/Gospel Distinction.

    I look forward to hearing from you. Thank you very much.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

