Collegiality

I’m going to have to ask Scott Clark’s forgiveness here for not blogging about my recent trip to Westminster California. All I can say is, here is my attempt to rectify the situation. To put it simply, I had a great time.

I got to go out for lunch with 3 faculty members (Scott Clark, Professor of Church History and historical theology, Joel Kim, Assistant Professor of New Testament, and John Fesko, Associate Professor of Systematic Theology). Now, I’m sure that such ribbing and teasing goes on among many faculties of many seminaries, but I haven’t seen too many professors have such fun together. The fellowship was sweet. I included their respective fields for a very specific reason: these professors weren’t competing against each other, nor did they view their respective fields as competing fields. The collegiality was most refreshing. With the recent faculty problems at WTS Philly, which have been going on for a while now, I did not witness the same across-the-board collegiality. There is certainly some there, but the tension between the “biblical” guys and the “sytematic” guys was palpable when I was there. I hope things are improving at WTS in this regard. I have every reason to believe that it is so.

Of course, what is a seminary visit without books? Scott loaded me down with about 8 or 9 of them (many thanks, Scott! I am especially enjoying Van Drunen’s book on Natural Law and the Two Kingdoms).

One other thing I noticed was that all the faculty offices were on one corridor. I imagine this was intentional, but I still think it is a wonderful thing: collegiality among faculty is greatly increased when it is that easy to duck into another professor’s office. I think every seminary ought to consider this kind of a move.

7 Comments

  1. May 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    [...] Lane Visits Westminster Seminary California Posted on May 15, 2010 by R. Scott Clark And reflects on it at GB. [...]

  2. john cho said,

    May 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    faculty at covenant seminary are all on the same hallway. having fun together is unparalleled here.

  3. michael said,

    May 15, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Great!

    Of these three, Dr. J.V. Fesko I have some familiarity with as I have corresponded with him when as yet he was still in Georgia, I believe? He hadn’t made his way to California. I have all his writings and have just purchased his newest one which is to be sent at the end of the month I believe?

    He must have settled in and is hard at work converting the Southern Cal. crowd?

    You are so fortunate to spend time with these guys, geesh, ok to be a bit jealous?

  4. Tim Prussic said,

    May 18, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Good to hear that the visit was a blessing. Pastor, I hope you blog through Van Drunen’s TK book. Honestly, I’ve found TK theory to be difficult. I’m probably not alone on that, either. You’re a clear-headed fellow and your analysis would probably be helpful to quite a few people… including me!

  5. May 19, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Pittsburgh Seminary has this as well.

  6. greenbaggins said,

    May 19, 2010 at 10:21 am

    Tim, I will try to blog a bit about Van Drunen.

  7. February 5, 2011 at 8:01 am

    [...] fraternal row of offices located in a single corridor at WSC (something he mentioned recently on his blog)? Maybe he pictures himself daily rubbing shoulders with WSC profs like Scott Clark, Joel Kim, and [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 300 other followers

