I’ve Decided

I’ve decided that the nested comments are more trouble than they are worth for a blog like mine. I think they would work great on a blog that only gets at most 20 comments on a post. But on the theonomy thread, I think the limitations were pretty obvious. I have therefore switched back to the older way. Currently I have it set on displaying 100 comments per page, with the last page (and therefore newest comments) being the first page you see when clicking on a post. Please let me know what you think.

13 Comments

  1. Jeff Cagle said,

    April 28, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Initial reaction: Whew!

    It’s a tribute to your blog that you got mugged by success — 900+ posts on some topics.

  2. tim prussic said,

    April 28, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    I think that’s a good move. Since you had the comment numbers, conversations could still proceed with relative ease.

  3. David Gadbois said,

    April 28, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    I’ll second that decision!

  4. dgh said,

    April 29, 2009 at 4:20 am

    Bingo!

  5. Scott said,

    April 29, 2009 at 5:19 am

    While they have some advantages, they can seem to confuse the pattern of response and isolate discussion, but it was good to try it.

  6. TurretinFan said,

    April 29, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Now, on popular threads, those who speak to be seen will have to post at least once every hundred posts. When the number of such folks exceeds 100, we have a problem. :)

  7. tim prussic said,

    April 29, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Quit being so popular, Pastor, or we’re going to start having our doubts about you. From the day’s of my youth I’ve been taught that if more than a dozen arm-folded curmudgeons like something, it’s probably wrong.

  8. April 29, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Thanks Lane — I had to give up reading comments with the threaded responses. This way is definitely simpler.

  9. tim prussic said,

    April 30, 2009 at 12:56 am

    I’ve been walking around singing, “I have decided to follow Jesus” for the last two days; it’s been driving me bonkers! I just figured out why: it’s this stinkin’ post. Every time I’ve come to this blog, I’ve left singing that song!!

  10. greenbaggins said,

    April 30, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Tim, you crack me up!

  11. tim prussic said,

    April 30, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    It’s like a curse. Would you post a few more thinks so I can regain my sanity? I woke up last night at 0200 singing it!

  12. greenbaggins said,

    April 30, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Okay. I’ll post on deciding for Christ.

  13. tim prussic said,

    April 30, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    How’s about a Just As I Am post?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

