We Lost Our Baby

Sarah and I had a sonogram today, and there was no heartbeat at all, and the development was three weeks behind the 20 1/2 week mark. We will have to go in tomorrow to have Sarah induced. Please pray that it may be quicker than I think it will take (it could take as long as 24 hours or as short as 5-6).

We know that we now have one child safely in the arms of our Heavenly Father now, and we have the Gileadic balm of the hope of the resurrection. We will go this little one, even if this little one will not return to us. Please pray for us.

43 Comments

  1. rolwim said,

    April 8, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Please know that we are praying for you.

  2. tim prussic said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Praying for you, Pastor. Grieving, too.

  3. Bryan Cross said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    I’m very sorry Lane. May our Lord give you and Sarah peace and comfort.

    In the peace of Christ,

    - Bryan

  4. Jim Vellenga said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Two of our little ones went to be with the Lord before birth as well. Even having gone through it I don’t have words to say except I am very sorry and will pray you will receive comfort and whatever else you need from our risen Lord.

  5. David Gray said,

    April 8, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Pastor,

    We are very sorry to hear of your loss.

    Dave

  6. Reed Here said,

    April 8, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Lane: so very, very sorry. My wife and I lost our first and third child in much the same way.

    Eternity that’s much sweeter to hope for. Praying with you.

  7. Anne said,

    April 8, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I’m so sorry, Lane. I had a mid-term miscarriage, too.

    That’s hard. Praying for y’all.

  8. Elder Hoss said,

    April 8, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Dear Lane – We have not met, but I look forward to meeting you and your departed covenant child, now resting in the arms of Jesus, in glory, far beyond this veil of tears.

    Be assured of our covenant family’s prayers for you and your family, prayers mediated through the blood of a glorious Saviour who died for your precious child.

  9. David Gilleran said,

    April 8, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Lane, I will be praying for you and your family. May the sure hope of the resurrection and the covenant faithfulness of our Heavenly Father support you all at this time

  10. April 8, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    Lane: I know that our covenant God will grant you special grace and mercy at this time. Please know that I am praying for you and your wife, and that God will glorify Himself in what has happened. God is sovereign in all things, and all His providences work together for the good of the one who trusts in Him. I do hope that your child is with the Lord.

  11. jené said,

    April 8, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    keeping you in thought and prayer. trusting you find comfort and solace in God’s grace and healing love.

  12. Wayne Sparkman said,

    April 8, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    Our prayers are with you and your dear wife, for His perfect comfort and strength.

  13. revkev1967 said,

    April 8, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I’ll pray for you and your family, Lane.

  14. Vern Crisler said,

    April 9, 2009 at 12:03 am

    My condolences, Lane. May the Lord keep you and your family until the final day.

    Vern

  15. April 9, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Lane

    I never comment on blogs these days, but I must make an exception here. I cannot tell you how sorry I am to hear this. The same thing happened to very good friends of mine (who were childless at the time, and remain so) a couple of years ago.

    Thanks be to God that He has promised to be a God unto us and to our offspring after us, and that your child, like David’s, is now with its father’s Lord.

  16. Jeff Cagle said,

    April 9, 2009 at 6:25 am

    I’m so sorry. May the Lord be your strength and refuge during this time.

  17. Stephen Welch said,

    April 9, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Dear Lane,

    Words cannot express the sorrow we feel for the death of your child. I am truly sorry for you and Sarah’s loss and will keep you in my prayers. I will bring you all before our congregation this coming Lord’s Day and pray for you. Please be assured of our love, support, and prayers during this difficult time. Remember that our God is gracious and kind to us even in these situations and we can trust in His good providence and know that He will be our God and our children’s God. May He bless you with His peace and joy.

    Blessings in Christ,

    Stephen

  18. Ron Jung said,

    April 9, 2009 at 9:17 am

    You and your family are in our prayers.

  19. William Hill said,

    April 9, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Praying for you and your wife!

  20. MzEllen said,

    April 9, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I lost a child in just such a way. My prayers are with you and I encourage you to remember always that you have a child within that great cloud of witnesses.

  21. curate said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:03 am

    May the grace of God envelope your whole family at this time. I pray that you will soon have another little baby.

  22. Andrew said,

    April 9, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Very sorry for your loss.

  23. rcjr said,

    April 9, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Lane,

    The Sprouls will remember you and your loss in our prayers. As I told my dear wife when we found out about our first (of six) miscarriages, “The Lord giveth. The Lord taketh away. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

  24. April 9, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    I am sorry, Lane. We will pray for your family.

  25. Benji Swinburnson said,

    April 9, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    For Behold, I will create a new heavens and a new earth

    And the former things shall not be remembered or come to mind.

    But be glad and rejoice forever in what I create.

    For Behold, I create Jerusalem as a rejoicing, and her people a joy.

    I will rejoice in Jerusalem, and joy in my people

    The voice of weeping shall not be heard in her anymore, nor the voice of crying.

    No more shall there be an infant, who lives only a few days…(Is. 65:17-20)

    “Let the little children come to me, and do not forbid them, for of such is the kingdom of heaven.” – Jesus

  26. April 9, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Lane,
    So sorry to hear about this.

    Will pray for you and your dear wife.

    Your blog has been a great encouragement to this reforming evangelical and I’ve learned a great deal from it.

  27. Heidi Z said,

    April 9, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Just wanted to express that Ruben and I are praying for you and your wife and family right now as I imagine you are still at the hospital. May God comfort you.

  28. Uri Brito said,

    April 9, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    May your family be comforted in this time.
    Pastor Brito

  29. April 9, 2009 at 4:15 pm

    Praying with you and for you during this great sorrow.

    David and Toni

  30. Gabe Rench said,

    April 9, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    My wife miscarried last December. Our babies will be playing in heaven when we get there. In our prayers.

  31. Kate said,

    April 9, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I don’t normally read this blog.. but my husband does, and he was the one to inform me of this very sad news. We’d visited Tenth Presbyterian a long time ago, back in our college years, and had listened to you read and teach from Lamentations during that visit. We lost our twin boys in utero just eight months ago. I suppose that whenever I hear about this sort of thing now, it strikes a deep nerve. I hope it will encourage you to know that we lament with you, pray for you, and rejoice in His glorious resurrection with you.

  32. Gage Browning said,

    April 10, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    I’m so sorry. I’m praying for you.

    Gage Browning

  33. Ron Henzel said,

    April 11, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Lane,

    I am very sorry to hear of this great loss you and your wife have suffered. My family’s prayers are with you.

  34. Sean Mahaffey said,

    April 12, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    The Lord bless you and your whole family.

    Sean

  35. April 13, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Lane,

    May you sense a tender nearness of the Spirit of Christ during your time of grief.

    Our Lord Christ will never leave His people nor forsake them.

  36. Steven Carr said,

    April 14, 2009 at 7:08 am

    You are in our prayers, Lane. Our Presbytery has been hit hard with three losses. You and your wife’s baby and the Moon’s twins. All our in our prayers. Praise the Lord for the hope of the Resurrection.

  37. P Duggan said,

    April 14, 2009 at 7:44 am

    Vey sorry about this news for you both. Even more, you are in my prayers. God sustain you.

  38. Jason said,

    April 14, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    Lane, we are so sorry.

    Know that your example here – looking to other believers for prayers and support and being transparent in the midst of it and above all looking to our great and faithful God for comfort – has set a great example for those who may typically just disappear. The Lord is already working through you, even in the midst of this great sadness.

  39. Henry Bosch said,

    April 14, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Lane:

    May God bless you and your wife with comfort only the LORD can provide. Like some of the others here, my wife and I have also lost two children by miscarriage. The due date just passed last week of the second child we lost, and the pain is still so raw.

    What comfort we have that our children are with God and that he proclaims “Where O death is now your sting?”.

  40. Tim Cunningham said,

    April 15, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Praying for you and your wife.

    This may be a comfort, if you don’t know it already.

    http://www.desiringgod.org/ResourceLibrary/Poems/ByDate/1353_The_Innkeeper/

  41. Puritan Lad said,

    April 16, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    You and your wife are in our prayers…

  42. Aaron Root said,

    April 17, 2009 at 8:10 am

    I’m truly sorry, Lane. My wife and I lost our first in a similar way, and await our reunion with him.

    My family and I will pray for you.

  43. Pete Myers said,

    April 23, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Lane,

    I haven’t been on Green Baggins in months. Just scooted down the posts and found this.

    Brother my prayers are with you and your wife.

    Yours in Christ
    Pete


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 354 other followers

