Now In!

Check this out!

13 Comments

  1. Phil Taylor said,

    January 13, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I have only been through a few chapters so far (I am reading Kelly instead of Calvin in 2009) but it is great stuff. I have not read anything which quotes the Church Fathers and Orthodox Church so much. Kelly seems to unfold truth rather than state/proof text in the way other ST’s I have used do.

    I will be very interested to see how it compares with Richard Gamble’s Whole Counsel of God (July 2009 is the current release date but it seems to move regularly). I love the fact that I am alive and interested in ST when two new Reformed ST’s are being released.

  2. January 13, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I am really excited to see two Systematic Theologies coming out soon from two gentlemen committed to the Biblical view of Creation.

    By the way Dr. Gamble’s problem is with the publisher I understand.

  3. January 13, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Any chance this would/should replace Berkhoff on my bookshelf? This sounds very, very good.

  4. January 13, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    Not sure about replace, but I would definitely put it alongside.

    It is also nice, for once, that we have had this book in the UK before you got to read it.

  5. Phil Taylor said,

    January 14, 2009 at 3:10 am

    Agree with Martin … if you have Berkhof then keep him. But Kelly’s ST is being published in your lifetime which I think makes it important. I think Kelly will be more indepth than Berkhof and as I previously said it is written in a slightly different style to Berkhof/Reymond/Grudem etc.

    I think there might be three volumnes in total.

    Regarding Richard Gamble I once sent an e-mail about “The Whole Counsel of God” to PRTS and they said that the publisher was requiring further editing particularly in regard to some of Richard Gamble’s critiques of the positions of some other P&R authors. They indicated that Richard may have liked to take the publication to another publisher but that in the end he wanted to fulfill the contractual agreement.

    I no longer have this e-mail correspondence so I am working from memory.

    However, I believe Richard Gamble’s ST will brilliant also.

  6. January 14, 2009 at 8:03 am

    I was speaking metaphorically, of course. Only heresy would get a book actually tossed from my shelf. I meant as the “go to” ST on my shelf. Thanks for the thoughts, Martin and Phil!

  7. January 14, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Really? I love heretical books. They are good for sharpening knives.

  8. January 14, 2009 at 9:52 am

    Oh, I’m sure I have a few laying around here somewhere – such as something by Greg Boyd. But they are safely ensconced in boxes, only to be pulled out for reference as a foil.

    Mostly, though, I only have time for the edifying and trustworthy. I leave the “opposition research” to those much more gifted than I.

  9. January 14, 2009 at 11:07 am

    In the pulpit I try to observe the following from the Directory of Public Worship:

    “In confutation of false doctrines, he (the preacher) is neither to raise an old heresy from the grave, nor to mention a blasphemous opinion unnecessarily: but, if the people be in danger of an error, he is to confute it soundly, and endeavour to satisfy their judgements and consciences against all objections.”

  10. January 14, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Amen. Glad my pastor and elders are so inclined.

  11. natrimony said,

    January 14, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Dr. Kelly is sometimes my favorite professor (he has a tendency to stray from outlines). But, he places a good deal of emphasis on personal piety for the minister during all of his lectures. His writing is very different than his lectures. It almost seems like he is trying to weed out the men who aren’t really serious about gospel ministry. I feel like he’s probably forgotten more than I’ve ever known. But, I’m going to wait a little while to buy his Systematic Theology when it goes down in price some…me being a poor seminary student.

  12. January 15, 2009 at 10:08 am

    [...] Posted by BobVigneault Tim has voted with his silver. Anyone else? What could I do? Greenbaggins recommended it, and the WTS bookstore had it for sale at 38% off. I am weak, I tell you, weak! [...]

  13. January 19, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    If his writing style is as clear and elegant as in his other books, it should be a very interesting read, indeed! Another reason to keep Berkhof on the shelf!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

