Persecution

I am incredibly sorry for all those who have had to watch as vandals have taken over my blog. I hope that I have not only cleaned up the mess, but prevented future problems. From now on, anyone wishing to comment on my blog must have had a previously approved comment. This will be something of a compromise. I didn’t want to have all comments waiting in the Queue, since I quite frankly don’t have that kind of time. But at the same time, there needs to be some sort of gate-keeping. My special apologies to Anne Ivy, who has really gotten walloped for notifying me. But this raises the question: how do we respond when people persecute us, and say all manner of negative things about us? Here is how we respond: we pray for those who persecute us. So pray for Benny (I am pretty sure that that is his name). It is the work of one individual.

Anyway, a heads up to all my readers: you will not be able to post comments until I approve one of your comments. I believe this means that your next comment will have to be approved. So, if you would like to post on my blog in future, send a test comment, and I will approve it. On the other hand, the this works might be grandfathered in. I deleted all the past comments, and you might not have to have your next comment moderated. That would certainly be easier. I sincerely hope this works.

17 Comments

  1. Wes White said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:02 am

    This is a test comment.

  2. Fr. Bill said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:11 am

    This is a test comment.

  3. tim prussic said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Gimme Gimme Gimme – I WANT APPROVAL!

  4. NHarper said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Hi Lane,
    Boy, are we glad you are back! Thanks for doing the housekeeping and we will pray that God would watch over and guard His messengers.

  5. greenbaggins said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Okay, it seems clear to me that all who have commented before are already approved. This will therefore be simple to solve, as long as I have gotten rid of all the bad comments before. Maybe I should go through all stinking 6000 comments just to make sure!

  6. NicolasBarbeito said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:48 am

    Testing someone new.

  7. anneivy said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Since WordPress automatically bumps new comments up to the top of the “recent comment” list, I doubt any untoward comments slipped past you.

    And what Mr. Harper said…. ;-)

  8. RBerman said,

    May 29, 2007 at 11:55 am

    I missed what happened. A spambot or something?

  9. greenbaggins said,

    May 29, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    Comment 6 (thanks Nicolas!) proves that the system works. All I have to make sure of is that no comments escaped me since about three months ago when all this hideousness started. I have now gone through the last 3000 comments, and have deleted all the comments regarded as spam. I hope this is the end of it. Robert, what happened is someone in the UK spamming my blog with unbelievably obscene comments. There were about 40 or so just yesterday.

  10. May 29, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Testing another someone new that someday plans to comment. :)

  11. Juan said,

    May 29, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    test comment # 10

  12. May 29, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Test Comment….

  13. greenbaggins said,

    May 30, 2007 at 9:39 am

    Praise the Lord! The new system caught the comments of “Benny!”

  14. anneivy said,

    May 30, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Re: #13…

    Hot dang! :-D

  15. May 30, 2007 at 1:46 pm

    I thought Jack Benny was dead.

  16. June 13, 2007 at 7:37 am

    and I thought it was because I am a Reformed Woman that I was having these troubles of “spam posts” but I am relieved to know others of the male gender are also suffering in the body…all kidding aside, it’s tough when we stand for truth but God is good and gracious and gives a “way of escape” even if that means moderation (which I, btw, do all the time).

  17. bkelley said,

    June 22, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Brother Lane,

    New poster (not poser!) testing.

    BTW, looked around the blog a bit to find if you had inked your perspective on Kline’s intrusion theology, for lack of a better name. Thought I’d see something under the tag for covenant or under covenant of works. It seems to be a very profitable discussion, seeing as how at least one major seminary and many present OPC/PCA ministers would hold to much of Kline.

    And, finally, how about some comments on BT approaches to wisdom literature, esp. Proverbs (or any non-traditional approach for that matter).

    Thanks much – – certainly appreciate your perspectives and the edifying influence your blogs has for many like me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

